Welcome to the Central Library
This guide will introduce you to some of the resources available to you at the Vanderbilt Libraries. Please let me know if you need help at any point in your research process.
Get started by using these links to learn more about your subject or to brainstorm for topic ideas:
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
- Britannica This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative references, including articles from the print Encyclopædia Britannica, articles specially written for Britannica Online, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, etc.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of Cambridge titles covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- BnF GallicaThe digital library of the National Library of France
- EuropeanaDiscover Europe’s digital cultural heritage.
Search, save and share art, books, films and music from thousands of cultural institutions - FBTEE: The French Book Trade in Enlightenment EuropeThe FBTEE project is a digital humanities project of international significance mapping the production, marketing, dissemination, policing, and reception of books (and hence ideas) in the late eighteenth century.
- France: Women in the RevolutionThis guide is a starting point for research on women in the French Revolution of 1789. It includes English and French-language bibliographies, primary sources, digital resources, images, and biographical information on key figures in the Revolution.
- France in the RevolutionLearn about the role France played in the American Revolution.
- French Revolutionary Drama and French Revolutionary Pamphlets CollectionThe collections housed in the Department of Special and Area Studies Collections of the University of Florida's George A. Smathers Libraries.
- French Revolution Digital ArchivesParliamentary archives, Images of the French Revolution, and French Revolutionary Data, hosted by Stanford University Libraries
- Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité: Exploring the French RevolutionAn introduction to the French Revolution as well as an extraordinary archive of some of the most important documentary evidence from the Revolution, including 338 texts, 245 images, and a number of maps and songs.
- The Super-EnlightenmentThe Super-Enlightenment database contains thirty-six texts, written in French between 1716 and 1835.
- World Biographical Information System (WBIS) This link opens in a new windowShort biographical information on over 6 million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. Digital facsimile articles from biographical reference works. North and South America, Europe, Australia, New Zealand, and Oceania included.
