This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

Women's & Gender Studies Resources: Women's & Gender Studies Home

Librarian for Women's & Gender Studies

Melinda Brown
Contact:
Central Library

Welcome!

Welcome to the Women's & Gender Studies library guide.  The Vanderbilt Libraries have a wealth of materials that will be beneficial to anyone doing research on Women's & Gender Studies. 

All of the resources found within this course guide are available in one of the libraries on campus or online. There are also opportunities to make suggestions for the various categories. 

Recently Acquired Book Titles

Encyclopedias

LGBT: Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America

"This 3-vol. set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. ... [I]ncludes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS."

International Encyclopedia of Marriage & Family

"[This] 2nd edition ... adopt[s] an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency and commuter marriages. It includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change."

Encyclopedia of Rape

Encyclopedia of prostitution and sex work