Skip to main content

Library Orientation: Finding Books and Articles

Finding Books

ACORN provides availability and location information for:

  • books
  • periodical titles
  • DVD / videos
  • reserve materials
  • departmental libraries on campus such as the Women's Center and the Family Resource Center
  • most U.S. government documents published after July 1976

Materials are shelved by Library of Congress (LC) call numbers.

Click the link below for information on how to read a call number and locate books in the library.

 

 

Login to your patron account to review items checked-out, renew materials, check due dates and status of recalled materials, and more.

See Circulation and Loan Policies for loan periods, renewals, and fines.

Loading

Search Acorn

 
 

Advanced Search | My Account

Want to Quickly Find an e-Journal?

If you know a specific article that you want to read but don't know where to find it, use the E-Journal Locator. It tells you which databases have the full text of your article. If the article is not immediately available, it provides options so the library can obtain a copy for you.

 

E-Journal Locator

 

How do I read an e-journal article?

Most articles are available in full text via databases such as Business Source Complete, ProQuest Business and Factiva.

Look for something like this:
 PDF Full Text.

This means you can read, print, email or save your article to your computer or USB drive:Print, Email, Save, Export, Add to Folder

Emailing your article may send the citation and a link to the full text. From off-campus, you will be asked to log in with your VU Net ID to read the article.

No Full Text Available:
Sometimes, databases do not have all the full text available. Instead, you will see the FindIt@VU button: FindIt@VU.

Click this button, and a pop-up window will display databases that contain the article. If the Findit@VU window says that the resource is not available at Vanderbilt, click on the link for Interlibrary Loan. This is a free-to-you Vanderbilt Library service that will often be able to find a copy of what you need at another library. For journal articles, a pdf will be delivered to your email. For books, they will be delivered to the hold shelf of the Walker Management Library.