Skip to main content

Library Renovations: Home

The Eskind Biomedical Library will be closed for renovations from August 1, 2017 to July 31, 2018. This webpage will be your source for the latest information on library services during this time. Please direct all library-related renovation questions to Philip Walker, Interim Director. 

Eskind Biomedical Library Staff

Pearl Chai, Document Delivery, pearl.chai@vanderbilt.edu, (615) 936-1370

Camille Ivey, Reference and Instruction, camille.ivey@vanderbilt.edu, (615) 875-9613

Heather LaFerriere, Reference and Instruction, heather.e.laferriere@vanderbilt.edu, (615) 936-1387

Dan McCollum, Access Services, dan.mccollum@vanderbilt.edu, (615) 936-6176

Bharathi Polavarapu, Document Delivery, bharathi.polavarapu@vanderbilt.edu, (615) 936-1405

Thanita Sweat, Technical Services, thanita.sweat@vanderbilt.edu, (615) 936-3104

Rachel Walden, Reference and Instruction, rachel.l.walden@vanderbilt.edu, (615) 936-3459

Philip Walker, Interim Director of the Eskind Biomedical Library, philip.d.walker@vanderbilt.edu, (615) 936-2200

Library Services and Collections

Ask A Librarian: Submit questions about library services and resources.

Books: Print books from the Eskind Collection have been moved to the Science & Engineering Library and the Annex. The library catalog will indicate its location.  

Document Delivery: Request form. Print items can be picked up at the Science & Engineering Library. Hours. Campus Map.

Library Annex Requests: Request form. Biomedical items can be picked up at the Science & Engineering Library. Hours. Campus Map.

Library Instruction/Training/Orientations: Individual instruction can be scheduled with the Reference Librarians. Please contact Philip Walker or Rachel Walden for group instruction.

Print Course Reserves: Located at the Science & Engineering Library. Hours. Campus Map.

Reference Collection: Located at the Science & Engineering Library. Hours. Campus Map.

Research Assistance: Contact the Reference Librarians directly or through the Ask A Librarian form.

Study Areas: all VU libraries are open to VUSN and VUSM students, staff, and faculty, and VUMC personnel. The closest libraries to the medical center are the Peabody Library and the Science & Engineering Library. Hours. Campus Map.

Special Collections

Beginning June 1, 2017 and continuing through the Eskind Library renovation, our rare books and archival collections will be available by appointment only. Please contact us at Special.Collections@vanderbilt.edu to make an appointment to use our collections at the Heard Library Special Collections. EBL Special Collections will reopen in summer 2018.

Nathan Jones, Archivist, nathan.m.jones@vanderbilt.edu, (615) 936-1417

Christopher Ryland, Curator, History of Medicine Collections and Archives, christopher.ryland@vanderbilt.edu, (615) 936-1406

Jim Thweatt, Archivist, james.thweatt@vanderbilt.edu, (615) 936-1408

Eskind Biomedical Library Special Collections homepage

Campus Exhibit

Title: Maladies, elixirs, and healers: 500 years of medical history from the Eskind Biomedical Library Special Collections

Location: Special Collections, Central Library, 2nd floor

Dates: July 24, 2017 - December 31, 2017