Welcome and Quick Links
Welcome to the Vanderbilt Library system. Get oriented to the library by visiting our website using the quick-access buttons below.
The main library is called Central Library (see the map on the right). Other libraries at Vanderbilt include Divinity, Peabody, Music, Walker (Management), Law, Science & Engineering, and Eskind Biomedical. We also have an amazing Special Collections department (part of which is the Vanderbilt TV Archive).
Each of the libraries has its own hours and borrowing policies. Check the individual library's website for more details, or ask a member of the staff there.
Librarian
What is FindIt@VU?
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
Major Resources to Bookmark
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowUse to locate law review articles and Supreme Court case law.
- PAIS International This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, etc., covering issues in the public sphere, with strong international content. Articles date from 1972-present.
- Proquest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new windowU.S. Congressional materials (hearings, bills, Congressional Record and compiled legislative histories) and Executive Branch documents. Contains Congressional Research Service reports going back to 1916.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA) This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive political science and public policy database. Use to search and narrow down scholarly articles. Articles date from 1975 to present.
Other Databases
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowCoverage of the most important issues of the day, written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, and resources for additional research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowDigital humanities and social science scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies.
Five Steps to Remember
- Brainstorm and figure out your topic.
- Search for books and articles on your topic (use Library Catalog, Google Scholar, and VU library databases).
- To find books, use the floor map that comes with this guide (see above).
- Use interlibrary loans for any book or article the library doesn't have.
- Ask me or another librarian if you get stuck!
Useful General Search Terms
Some useful search terms to use in the library catalog (Library Catalog) include:
- Constitutional law -- United States
- Constitutional law -- United States -- Cases
- Constitutional history -- United States
- Civil rights -- United States
- United States -- Politics and government
- United States -- Constitution
- United States -- Supreme Court
- Political questions and judicial power -- United States
These are just a few examples. When you are searching, look for the word "Subjects" in the entry details and you will find other examples of good subject searches. See the diagram below for a visual of how the subjects range from narrower to broader in the library catalog.
Constitutional Source Material
- Constitution of the United States
National Archives and Records Administration site with transcription and high-resolution images of the "supreme law of the land" of the United States. - The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and InterpretationA comprehensive treatise on the specifics of the document, published by the Government Printing Office. Concentrates on a review of the Supreme Court's interpretation of the Constitution over the past 62 years.
- Selected Constitutional BibliographyA selected list of print resources covering general reference, the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, and the period 1789-1875.
