This is the "Databases" page of the "Company & Industry: Private Companies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Company & Industry: Private Companies   Tags: company, industry, private_company  

Private companies are corporations that have not offered securities or shares to the public; they can be small "mom and pops" or large multinationals.
Last Updated: Jan 15, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/privatecompanies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Private Company Research

Unlike public companies, private companies are not regulated by the federal government. Therefore, it is at the discretion of a private company if, and what, they want to disclose about themselves. It can be more difficult and time consuming to locate information about private companies. However, there are many methods and resources. The resources in this guide will help you get started.

Walker Management Library Databases

  • PrivCo
    Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations: family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Information on private investors, private equity deals, M&A and VC firms.
  • Business Source Premier  
      
    Covers most subject areas related to business: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
  • Capital IQ  
      
    Available on Walker Management Library computers. Requires Internet Explorer. Financial data for public & private companies worldwide; private capital firms; M&A transactions. Financial analysis tools to generate reports: comparables analysis, market analysis, financial modeling, etc.
  • Factiva  
      
    Full-text of business magazines, trade publications, & newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Use the submenus to refine your search by source, company, subject, industry, region and/or language.
  • Hoover's  
      
    Basic information on 12 million worldwide companies & in-depth profiles of more than 40,000 public & private companies. Profile may include company description, historical profile, competitors, financials, products/operations, industry information, etc.
  • OneSource  
      
    In depth details on 80,000+ international companies & their executives as well as 350,000+ U.S. and Canadian public & private companies & their executives. Includes financials, subsidiaries, trade and business news, and research reports.
 

Search For More Databases

The Walker Management Library has access to dozens of Owen Graduate School of Management and Vanderbilt University licensed databases. These resources provide access to business news and journals, as well as highly specialized content on an extensive range of business topics and research disciplines. Access and use restrictions apply to some resources, and use of these resources imply acceptance of our Copyright and Licensing Restrictions. Databases can be found in the following ways:

Walker Management Library

Profile Image
Walker Management Library
Contact Info
Walker Management Library
Owen Graduate School of Management
401 21st. Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
(615) 322-2970
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip