iPhone AppsAndroid Apps
This is the "Home" page of the "Mobile Tools for Scientists" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Vanderbilt University Heard Library

Mobile Tools for Scientists  

A collection of the apps and web portals that allow you to use scholarly scientific databases on the go.
Last Updated: Jan 24, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/mobile Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Cautionary Note

If an app or website allows access to full-text journal articles assume the words "if you have a subscription" are true for most cases.  Free apps do not give you a subscription, only another way of accessing the restricted databases that Vanderbitl subscirbes to.

What is EZProxy?

  • EZProxy at Vanderbilt
    EZProxy is an application used by Vanderbilt libraries to provide remote access to our restricted resources. If you are having problems accessing full-text off campus, incorrect proxy settings are a likely problem.
 

Guide to the Guide

There are three main sections to this guide. The first page is "Database Apps" for iPhone iOS and for Android - each platform has a subpage splitting the suggestions into free and pay apps.  Even with pay apps, your access to full-text often depends on your subscription to the content. Most people reading this guide have subscriptions provided by Vanderbilt University.  Pre-print collections (like arXiv) and open access journals (like PLoS) are notable exceptions. 

 

The second page is "Mobile Database Websites" which are web portals designed for handheld browsing.  Again, access to full-text will depend on your subscriptions, but the links in this guide which go directly to databases include the proxy HTML script.  Off-campus users may be asked to login with their VUnetID, but should be good to go after that.

 

The last page is "Other Useful Apps & Mobile Sites" which has a few suggestions for potentially useful apps for scientists.  There are also some interesting websites with a mobile interface that may be useful.

 

Resources for Physicians and Clinical Researchers

The Eskind Biomedical Library has a list of mobile resources tailored to clinical biomedical researchers and physicians. 

Librarian

Profile Image
Kitty Porter
Contact Info
3218 Stevenson Center
615-343-7106
Send Email
 
Campus Libraries: Biomedical | Central | Divinity | Law | Management | Music | Peabody | Science & Engineering | Special Collections | TV News
Vanderbilt University | Phone Numbers/Addresses of Campus Libraries | Privacy Policy
Jean and Alexander Heard Library, 419 21st Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37203-2427
Telephone 615-322-7100 | Fax 615-343-8279
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip