This is the "Islamic Studies Online Sources & Blogs" page of the "Islamic Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Islamic Studies   Tags: divinity_gdr, islam, muslims, religion, theology  

Islamic Studies for GDR Program
Last Updated: Jun 27, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/islam Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Islamic Studies Online Sources & Blogs Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Feedback

Are we missing something? If you know of a blog or a scholarly resource that we should add here, please contact our bibliographer Aydogan Kars

Source: Folio of "the Concourse of Birds" [Mantiq al-Tayr] of Farid al-din 'Attar (d.ca.1220); ca.1610 (Safavid Period).

 

The Cookbook (for the Raw)

This beautiful online book contains excellent essays and anecdotes on the historic and contemporary role of food, meeting and hospitality in Sufism, featuring an art gallery of Islamic art.

The Cookbook

The Recipes

The Gallery

Bibliography

Complete Index

 
No more than three words, my whole in three words:
I was raw, I roasted and I burnt.
Rumi

 

Resources for Islamic Studies

Alan Godlas', "Islam and Islamic Studies Resources"

A major online source for studying Islam, Qur'an, hadith, the Sunnah, Shi'ism, Heterodox Movements, Sufism and Sufi Poetry, Islam in the modern world, jihad, Islamist or extremist Muslims, Muslim women, Islamic art, architecture, music, Islamic history, theology, philosophy, etc. Dr. Alan Godlas is an Associate Professor in the Department of Religion at the University of Georgia.

Carl W. Ernst's "Resources on Islamic Studies"

Dr. Carl W. Ernst is the Kenan Distinguished Professor of Islamic studies at the Department of Religious Studies at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and a specialist in Islamic Studies, with a focus on West and South Asia. His webpage entails a distinguished list of resources for Islamic Studies.

Muslim Philosophy

The premier Islamic philosophy resource on the web. Extensive information about the major Islamic philosophers, their thought and works, primary sources, where they fit in with other philosophical traditions, and a Dictionary of Islamic Philosophy are available online.

BBC Religions: Islam

BBC has an accessible and user-friendly website devoted to Islam, with the followjng headings: Islam at a glance, Arts and culture, Beliefs, History, Holy days, Ethics, Practices, Prayer & worship, Rites & rituals, Subdivisions, Texts.

The Muslim Heritage

Owned, operated and published by The Foundation for Science, Technology and Civilisation (FSTC), a British organisation based in Manchester, UK, the website focuses on philosophical, scientific contributions, discoveries and intellectual achievements of Muslims men and women. The website also has a timeline of scholarly achievements, a wide-ranging and user-friendly list of classical Muslim scholars, a page of virtual civilization and many articles.

The Islamic Arts Magazine

The webpage contains a rich variety of visual material, galleries in various forms of modern Islamic arts as well as a magazine, interviews, videos, news, events, exhibitions and theoretical discussions on arts.

Muslima: Muslim Women’s Art & Voices

A global online exhibition from the International Museum of Women (IMOW). Muslima presents a groundbreaking collection of thought pieces and artwork from contemporary Muslim women who are defining their own identities and, in the process, shattering pervasive stereotypes.

The webpage contains:
*Art Gallery, which includes stunning individual art and photography pieces created by Muslim women and artists around the globe.
*Featured Voices, which presents long-form pieces that feature the diverse voices of thought leaders, artists, and activists working to make a difference in the world for Muslim Women.
*Muslima Stories, a collaborative multimedia project that presents the stories of Muslim women in words and images, describing what it means to be a Muslim women today.

Topics explored in Muslima include: Generations; Connection; Power; Faith; Leadership; Appearance; Myths; Change.

a global online exhibition from the International Museum of Women (IMOW). Muslima presents a groundbreaking collection of thought pieces and artwork from contemporary Muslim women who are defining their own identities and, in the process, shattering pervasive stereotypes. Explore work from artists, activists, and thought-leaders around the world, representing a broad spectrum of Muslim realities and identities, addressing such topics as Power, Leadership, Appearance, Myths, Generations, Faith and Connection.  

 

The dynamic exhibition design allows you to explore Muslima Content by Type, Topic, Most Recent and favorite. We’ll be highlighting and adding new content on a daily basis, so be sure to come back.

Experience our:

  • Art Gallery, which includes stunning individual art and photography pieces created by Muslim women and artists around the globe
  • Featured Voices, which presents long-form pieces that feature the diverse voices of thought leaders, artists, and activists working to make a difference in the world for Muslim Women
  • Muslima Stories, a collaborative multimedia project that presents the stories of Muslim women in words and images, describing what it means to be a Muslim women today.The result are individual story panels which as more and more women across the globe contribute together forms a kaleidoscope of diverse stories and expressions. Submit your own Muslima Story today!

Topics explored in Muslima include:

- See more at: http://muslima.imow.org/content/aboutmuslima#sthash.LChq2T3k.dpuf

a global online exhibition from the International Museum of Women (IMOW). Muslima presents a groundbreaking collection of thought pieces and artwork from contemporary Muslim women who are defining their own identities and, in the process, shattering pervasive stereotypes. Explore work from artists, activists, and thought-leaders around the world, representing a broad spectrum of Muslim realities and identities, addressing such topics as Power, Leadership, Appearance, Myths, Generations, Faith and Connection.  

 

The dynamic exhibition design allows you to explore Muslima Content by Type, Topic, Most Recent and favorite. We’ll be highlighting and adding new content on a daily basis, so be sure to come back.

Experience our:

  • Art Gallery, which includes stunning individual art and photography pieces created by Muslim women and artists around the globe
  • Featured Voices, which presents long-form pieces that feature the diverse voices of thought leaders, artists, and activists working to make a difference in the world for Muslim Women
  • Muslima Stories, a collaborative multimedia project that presents the stories of Muslim women in words and images, describing what it means to be a Muslim women today.The result are individual story panels which as more and more women across the globe contribute together forms a kaleidoscope of diverse stories and expressions. Submit your own Muslima Story today!

Topics explored in Muslima include:

- See more at: http://muslima.imow.org/content/aboutmuslima#sthash.LChq2T3k.dpuf

Islamic Studies at Vanderbilt University

Our university's Islamic Studies program has a rich webpage with very useful research links and information on study and research abroad.

Columbia University List of Resources on Islam

Columbia University Library has a rich list of online resources on Islam and covers the following topics: Special Reports General Resources Bibliographies & Glossaries Hadith Art & Architecture Music Law Philosophy & Science Qur'an Shi'ah Sufism Sunnah Tafsir Women 

MESA List of Resources

Middle East Studies Association of North America (MESA), founded in 1966, is the preeminent organization in the field. The comprehensive list of resources that MESA introduces various headings including the following: Artists/Galleries/Museums/Exhibits Films and Videos Funding Agencies Job Search Engines Language Study On-Line Publications Publishers Research Institutes/Organizations/Portals Societies/Associations Special Projects Study Abroad Technology/Internet University Programs

Al-Azhar

Includes Islamic history and pillars, prophets' stories, legislation, architecture and an encyclopedia. Available in five languages.

Harvard Islamic Studies Web Resources

The webpage contains links to related websites, articles, audios, videos, reports & analysis, film & media.

Al-Khazina: The Treasury

Al-Khazina of the Princeton University is an interactive database for the study of Islamic Culture, particularly in the early centuries. The links to the "Islamic scholars," "maps," and "the arts" are particularly helpful.

Night Of Union, Fatima Zahra Hassan. (Part of Album based on the poetry of Bulleh Shah), Watercolour gouache, natural pigments, gold leaf on tea stained ‘Wasli’ paper, 1996/97, 8x12 inches / Courtesy of the Artist.

 

Blogs Related to Islamic Studies

What Would Muhammad Do? | Omid Safi's Blog at Religion News

Dr. Omid Safi is a Professor of Islamic Studies at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, specializing in contemporary Islamic thought and classical Islam. To subscribe to the blog, click here.

Feminism and Religion Amina Wadud and Kecia Ali

Feminism and Religion is affiliated with the Women’s Studies and Religion program at Claremont Graduate University. Feminist scholars of religion — and all who are interested in these issues — use this forum to share their ideas, insights, and experiences.

A prominent Muslim feminist, Amina Wadud is Professor Emerita of Islamic Studies, now traveling the world over seeking answers to the questions that move many of us through our lives. She blogs about Islam, gender and justice, especially as these intersect with the rest of the universe.

Kecia Ali is an Associate Professor of Religion at Boston University where she teaches a range of classes related to Islam.

Seasons Journal | Sheikh Hamza Yusuf's Blog

Among the most influential American Muslims, Sheikh Hamza Yusuf is one of the leading proponents of classical learning in Islam. The Seasons Journal brings the lessons of Islam to everyday topics.

Tariq Ramadan | Tariq Ramadan's Webpage

A very influential European intellectual and critical thinker, Tariq Ramadan is a Swiss academic and writer who is also a professor at Oxford University.

Mona Eltahawy | Mona Eltahawy's Webpage

Mona Eltahawy is an award-winning columnist and an international public speaker on Arab and Muslim issues. She is an Egyptian-American journalist based in New York. Her opinion pieces have been published frequently in media across the world, including The Washington Post, the Huffington Post and the International Herald Tribune and she has appeared as a guest analyst in several media outlets. She was a columnist for the Toronto Star, Jerusalem Report and Politiken until 2011 since when her columns have appeared in the Guardian. Her webpage contains her writings, and TV talks on Islam, the Middle East, revolution, and women in Islam.

Scholar of the House | Khaled Abou El-Fadl's Webpage

Khaled Abou El Fadl is a Distinguished Professor of Law at the UCLA and a famous expert in the field of Islamic law. His webpage contains a rich variety of topics related to Islamic Studies.

Charles Kurzman | Charles Kurzman's Webpage

Dr. Charles Kurzman is a Professor of Sociology at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill who specializes in Middle East and Islamic Studies.

Tabsir | Insight on Islam and Middle East

Scholars from various universities such as Daniel Martin VariscoAmir HussainAnouar MajidBruce LawrenceEl Sayed El AswadEstella CarpiGeorge El-HageGabriele MarranciGregory StarrettJon AndersonMagnus BernhardssonMark Allen PetersonMiriam CookeRonald Lukens-BullSamira Ali Bindaair contribute into this rich blog.

Sufi News | Alan Godlas' Blog

An archive of news reports from around the world concerning Sufis and Sufism. Dr. Alan Godlas from the University of Georia is the editor in chief of this blog. 

Dabashi Comments | Hamid Dabashi's Webpage at AlJazeera

Dr. Hamid Dabashi is a Professor of Iranian Studies and Comparative Literature at Columbia University. An internationally renowned cultural critic and award-winning author, Prof. Dabashi writes regularly at al-Jazeera.

Moozweek | Omar Sacirbey's Blog at Religion News

Omar Sacirbey is a Boston-based correspondent for Religion News Service and other publications.To subscribe to the blog, click here.

Critical Muslims | Carool Kersten's Blog

Critical Muslims introduces innovative and creative thinkers from the contemporary Islamic world. This site is intended as a platform for presenting alternative currents of thought. Dr. Carool Kersten is a Senior Lecturer in the Study of Islam and the Muslim World at King’s College London.

Islam, Muslims, and an Anthropologist | Gabriele Marranci's Blog

Dr. Gabriele Marranci is an anthropologist by training, based at the Department of Anthropology, Macquarie University, Sydney, who is sharing his ideas, engaging in constructive debate, and discussing topics in his blog, which starts from his professional, as well as personal interest, in understanding Muslim societies and, in more general terms, the challenges which we, as human beings, face in this new millennium.

Virtually Islamic | Gary R. Bunt's Blog

Dr. Gary R. Bunt is a Reader in Islamic Studies at the University of Wales, Trinity Saint David. The Virtually Islamic Blog contains the very latest headlines and commentary on Islam and the net, and is designed to augment the content of his research on Islam and Muslims in cyberspace.

Reasoned Comments | Islamic Societies Review

Islamic Societies Review (ISR) is a source of well-reasoned commentaries, readers' referred news and Op-Eds, book reviews and book publishing, and illustrative multimedia content.  - See more at: http://www.reasonedcomments.org/p/about.html#.Ujy0on9WqLo
Islamic Societies Review (ISR) is a source of well-reasoned commentaries, readers' referred news and Op-Eds, book reviews and book publishing, and illustrative multimedia content.  - See more at: http://www.reasonedcomments.org/p/about.html#.Ujy0on9WqLo

Islamic Societies Review (ISR) is a source of well-reasoned commentaries, readers' referred news and Op-Eds, book reviews and book publishing, and illustrative multimedia content.

TheWhitePath | Mustafa Akyol's Webpage

Mustafa Akyol is a Turkish political commentator and author based in Istanbul, Turkey. (In Turkish “Akyol” literally means “the white path,” hence the name of this website.) He is a regular commentator in the Turkish media and a columnist for two newspapers. The writings available in his webpage contain topics such as Change within IslamFaith MattersFundamentalism (Islamic)Fundamentalism (Secular)Highly Recommended by Akyol, Islam & MuslimsKurds, Iraq & TurkeyNews & CommentsRethinking The EastRethinking The WestScience, Theism & AtheismSuggested ReadingUncategorizedUnveiling Turkey.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip