This is the "Historical Studies New Titles" page of the "Historical Studies and Church History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Historical Studies and Church History   Tags: divinity_gdr  

Last Updated: Feb 12, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/hs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Historical Studies New Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recommendations

To recommend a new title for purchase contact:

Jared Halverson, Bibliographer for Historical Studies


Eileen Crawford, Collections Librarian, Divinity Library

 

New Database

African American Historical Serials Collection

Purchased May 2013

This database, developed in cooperation with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
           
         sample1

 

New Database

Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastique

PURCHASED MAY 2013

An incomparable source of information on the history of the Church: 20 centuries of history. About 70,000 entries and sub-entries. Enrichment with more than 2200 biographical notes on bishops, drawn from the reference work Die Bischöfe des Heiligen Römischen Reiches.

 

New Database

Revue d'histoire ecclésiastique. Bibliographie

 PURCHASED MAY 2013

The bibliography that sets the standard for the history of the church. Over 120,000 bibliographical records searchable. 70,000 records added annually.

Most Recent Acquisitions

 

New Title

Cover Art
Mississippi Praying : southern white evangelicals and the Civil Rights movement, 1945-1975 - Carolyn Renée Dupont
Call Number: Divinity Library 1st floor BR555 .M7 D87 2013
ISBN: 9780814708415
Publication Date: 2013-08-23
Mississippi Praying; examines the faith communities at ground-zero of the racial revolution that rocked America. This religious history of white Mississippians in the civil rights era shows how Mississippians’ intense religious commitments played critical, rather than incidental, roles in their response to the movement for black equality. Though Mississippi’s evangelicals lost the battle to preserve segregation, they won important struggles to preserve the theology that had sustained the racial hierarchy. Ultimately, this history sheds light on the eventual rise of the religious right by elaborating the connections between the pre- and post-civil rights South.

Cover Art
God and the Fascists - Karlheinz Deschner
Call Number: Divinity Library 1st floor BX1377 .D413 2013
ISBN: 9781616148379
Publication Date: 2013-10-08
In the decade preceding the outbreak of World War II, the Vatican made a devil's bargain with fascist leaders. Anticipating that their regimes would eliminate a common enemy--namely Marxist-Leninist communism--two popes essentially collaborated with Hitler, Mussolini, and the fascist dictators in Spain (Franco) and Croatia (Pavelić). This is the damning indictment of this well-researched polemic, which for almost five decades in Germany has sparked controversy, outrage, and furious debate. Now it is available in English for the first time.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip