Human and Organizational Development Resources (HOD)

For more than twenty years, this indispensable resource has been the reference of choice for psychologists, researchers, teachers, and students who need up-to-date and comprehensive information in the fields of psychology and behavioral science. Updated and expanded to include much new material, this paperback is the only reference source that effectively blends psychology and behavioral science. This edition features over 1,200 entries, sixty percent of which are substantially revised or altogether new; contributions from over seven hundred experts from around the world; a bibliography of over 10,000 citations.

Today, as never before, healthcare has the ability to enhance the quality and duration of life. At the same time, healthcare has become so costly that it can easily bankrupt governments and impoverish individuals and families. Health services research is a highly multidisciplinary field, including such areas as health administration, health economics, medical sociology, medicine, , political science, public health, and public policy. The Encyclopedia of Health Services Research is the first single reference source to capture the diversity and complexity of the field. With more than 400 entries, these two volumes investigate the relationship between the factors of cost, quality, and access to healthcare and their impact upon medical outcomes such as death, disability, disease, discomfort, and dissatisfaction with care. Key Features Examines the growing healthcare crisis facing the United States Encompasses the structure, process, and outcomes of healthcare Aims to improve the equity, efficiency, effectiveness, and safety of healthcare by influencing and developing public policies Describes healthcare systems and issues from around the globe Key Themes Access to Care Accreditation, Associations, Foundations, and Research Organizations Biographies of Current and Past Leaders Cost of Care, Economics, Finance, and Payment Mechanisms Disease, Disability, Health, and Health Behavior Government and International Healthcare Organizations Health Insurance Health Professionals and Healthcare Organizations Health Services Research Laws, Regulations, and Ethics Measurement; Data Sources and Coding; and Research Methods Outcomes of Care Policy Issues, Healthcare Reform, and International Comparisons Public Health Qu

Click ′Additional Materials′ for downloadable samples "Not just for reference, this is an essential learning resource for libraries and the personal collections of modern leaders. Narratives, examples, photographs, and illustrations illuminate the ideas and concepts being examined, making the set readable, attention-grabbing, and unordinary. Readers can explore leadership theories and practices, and examine the effects of leadership. More volumes are promised in this source that brings interest and excitement to a subject overlooked by the consultants, CEOs, and coaches whose earlier works captured a small view of leadership subject matter. Summing Up: Highly recommended for all collections." --CHOICE "Because there really is nothing available like this encyclopedia, it is a must buy for academic libraries. Extremely well done, with good quality print and illustrations, this work should become an important resource for active citizens as well as for managers and scholars." --BOOKLIST (starred review) "Because of its breadth, ease of navigation, high level of scholarship, clear writing, and practical format, this model encyclopedia should help establish leadership as a normative field of study. Highly recommended." --LIBRARY JOURNAL (star review) "SAGE has, again, been the first to hit the market with a major reference in a rapidly growing field of the social sciences. Virtually every academic and large public library will need the Encyclopedia of Leadership." --BOOK NEWS "The enormous demands on leadership in today′s world-the rise of militant followings; the struggle of long-suppressed people to rise to leadership positions; the heightened demand for moral, principled leadership--all these dynamic forces contribute to making this encyclopedia timely--and timeless." --From the Foreword by James MacGregor Burns, Williams College, author of Leadership and winner of the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award "As the field of leadership studies expands, and the list of important authors and concepts grows, the time is at hand for a comprehensive encyclopedia of leadership. This collection will be welcomed by all who want to understand this important and complex field." --Howard Gardner, John H. and Elisabeth A. Hobbs Professor of Cognition and Education at the Harvard Graduate School of Education and author of Good Work: When Excellence and Ethics Meet (2001) and Leading Minds: An Anatomy of Leadership (1995) "In 1975 a wag declared that the concept of leadership should be abandoned. It was not, of course. The 300 contributors to the Encyclopedia of Leadership are leaders among the many thousands of scholars responsible for the health and vast breadth of leadership studies. They show us that leadership plays an important, increasingly integral role today in fields ranging from world politics to community development." --Bernard M. Bass, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Center for Leadership Studies, School of Management, Binghamton University and author of Transformational Leadership: Industrial, Military and Educational Impact (1998) and Leadership and Performance beyond Expectations (1985) "This new Encyclopedia provides leaders with the historical perspective and a vision of the tenuous future so essential if leaders of the future are to redefine leadership on their own terms, with their own people." --Frances Hesselbein, Chairman of the Board of Governors, Leader to Leader Institute (formerly the Drucker Foundation) and coeditor of On Creativity, Innovation, and Renewal: A Leader to Leader Guide (2002) and Leading Beyond the Walls (1999) From the earliest times people have been entranced by stories about leaders--about Greek city state rulers, Roman consuls, Chinese emperors, religious potentates, military conquerors, and politicians. Perhaps more importantly, leadership is a challenge and an opportunity facing millions of people in their professional and personal lives. The Encyclopedia of Leadership brings together for the first time everything that is known and truly matters about leadership as part of the human experience. Developed by the award-winning editorial team at Berkshire Publishing Group, the Encyclopedia includes hundreds of articles, written by 280 leading scholars and experts from 17 countries, exploring leadership theories and leadership practice. Entries and sidebars show leadership in action--in corporations and state houses, schools, churches, small businesses, and nonprofit organizations. Questions the Encyclopedia of Leadership will answer: - What is a leader? - What is a great leader? - How does someone become a leader? - What are the types of leadership? - How can leadership theories help us understand contemporary situations? - How can I be a good (and maybe great) leader? The Encyclopedia of Leadership is an unprecedented learning resource. Scholars, students, professionals, and active citizens will turn to the Encyclopedia for guidance on the theory and practice of leadership, for the stories of great leaders, and for the tools and knowledge they need to lead in the 21st century. Key Features - Four volumes - 400 substantive articles, ranging in length from 1000-6000 words - 200 photographs and other illustrations - 250 sidebars drawn from public records, newspaper accounts, memoirs, and ethnography Key Themes - Biographies - Case studies - Followers and followership - Gender issues - Leadership in different disciplines - Leadership in different domains - Leadership styles - Personality characteristics - Situational factors - Theories and concepts The Encyclopedia of Leadership will be a vital tool for librarians with collections in business, management, history, politics, communication, psychology, and a host of other disciplines. Students and teachers in courses ranging from history to psychology, anthropology, and law will also find this an invaluable reference. In addition, there are nearly 900 leadership programs in American post-secondary institutions and a growing number of efforts to develop leadership in high schools. There are leadership studies majors and minors, as well as certificate and Ph.D. programs, in the United States, Belgium, U.K., Japan, and elsewhere. Editorial Board Laurien Alexandre, Antioch University Bruce Avolio, University of Nebraska, Lincoln Martin Chemers, University of California, Santa Cruz Kisuk Cho, Ewha Womans University Joanne Ciulla, University of Richmond David Collinson, Lancaster University, UK Yiannis Gabriel, Imperial College, London Zachary Green, Alexander Institute and University of Maryland Keith Grint, Oxford University Michael Hogg, University of Queensland Jerry Hunt, Texas Tech University Barbara Kellerman, Harvard University Jean Lipman-Blumen, Claremont Graduate University Larraine Matusak, LarCon Associates Ronald Riggio, Claremont McKenna College Jürgen Weibler, Fernuniversitat Hagen Contributors Include Warren Bennis (Management) John Chandler (Higher Education) Cynthia Cherrey (International Leadership Association) Bob Edgerton (Mau Mau Rebellion) Gene Gallagher (Religion) Betty Glad (Camp David Accords and Tyrannical Leadership) Louis Gould (Woodrow Wilson and Lyndon Johnson) Allen Guttmann (Modern Olympics Movement and Women′s Movement) Ronald Heifetz (Adaptive Work) Dale Irvin (Ann Lee) David Malone (Billy Graham) Martin Marty (Martin Luther) Kenneth Ruscio (Trust) Robert Solomon (Friedrich Nietzsche) Robert Sternberg (Intelligence and Tacit Knowledge) Fay Vincent (Sports Industry) Gary Yukl (Influence Tactics and Group Performance)

This comprehensive handbook, the first in its field, brings together 106 different contributors. The 38 interrelated but at the same time independent chapters discuss key areas including conceptual frameworks; empirically grounded constructs; intervention strategies and tactics; social systems; designs, assessment, and analysis; cross-cutting professional issues; and contemporary intersections with related fields such as violence prevention and HIV/AIDS.

Providing a comprehensive review and guide to the study, theory and practice of public policy today the Handbook draws together contributions from leading academics and policy analysts from around the world.