Online Encyclopedias
The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4th ed. by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780199545568Publication Date: 2012-05-04
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0195300823
Online Resources
Knowing where to start isn't always easy, especially when you're dealing with an unfamiliar subject. Sometimes the best place to start is a subject specific dictionary or encyclopedia. Below is a list of online reference resources for Classical Studies and Art.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and RomeThis multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
- The Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD), 4th ed.The most authoritative and accessible dictionary of its kind, this is an essential reference for both scholars and non-specialists with an interest in the classical era.
- The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and ArchitectureMost current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. Includes some images.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowOxford’s art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowConsult the following titles:
The Cambridge Ancient History - Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of Cambridge titles covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies.
Print Resources
- Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC)
Central Library, Reference 4th-flr: NX650 .M9 L494
- The Dictionary of Classical Mythology
Central Library, Reference 4th-flr: BL715 .G713 1985
- The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s
Central Library, Reference 4th-flr: NX650 .M9 R45 1993
- A Dictionary of Pictorial Subjects from Classical Literature
Central Library, Reference 4th-flr: N7760 .P68 1983
- Mythological and Classical World Art Index
Central Library, Reference 4th-flr: N7760 .R63 1991
Renaissance Venus
Birth of Venus
1485
Sandro Botticelli
Uffizi, Florence
