Sports
Today, Vanderbilt undergraduates have a great deal of choice when defining their academic career. They can choose from over 40 majors and an even longer list of minors, or they can develop their own interdisciplinary program. The degree requirements for the Class of 1912 didn't leave them much room for choice. Of the 64 hours of coursework required for a B.A., only 21 hours were devoted to elective classes selected by the students. Members of the Class of 1912 had a rigorous academic program. They worked hard, but they definitely had a sense of humor about academic life.
Below you'll find examples of student drawn cartoons depicting their "idea" of college life at Vanderbilt.
Football
|
Vanderbilt vs. Sewanee, Thanksgiving Day. The Hustler, November 26, 1908 |
|
Vanderbilt vs. Sewanee, 1909. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
The Commodores Weaken Before Sewanee. Tigers Defeat Commodores, 16-5. The Hustler, December 2, 1909 |
|
Thanksgiving, 1910. A football themed version of Poe's The Raven. Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
1909-1910 Vanderbilt Football Team Photo and Roster. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Report of the Foot Ball Rules Committee for 1909. The Hustler, April 22, 1909 |
|
Vanderbilt Songs and Yells, 1909-1910. Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Cartoon Commemorating Sewanee's Defeat in a November 24th game, ca. 1910. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
Basketball
|
1910-1911 Vanderbilt Basketball Team Photo and Roster. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Commodores Victorious! The Hustler, January 11, 1911 |
Women's Basketball
|
1908-1909 Vanderbilt Women's Basketball Team Photo and Roster. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Commodoresses Spoil the Curls of the Alumni Girls, Score 26 to 19. The Hustler, December 16, 1909
|
|
1909-1910 Vanderbilt Women's Basketball Team Photo and Roster. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
1910-1911 Vanderbilt Women's Basketball Team Photo and Roster. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Columbia Institute Routed: Vanderbilt Girls Defeat Invading Amazons by Score of 11 to 9. The Hustler, March 18, 1911 |
|
1911-1912 Vanderbilt Women's Basketball Team Photo and Roster. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
Baseball
|
1909-1910 Vanderbilt Baseball Team Photo and Roster. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Baseball Prospects: "Dick" Lyle Will Lead the Horsehide Commodores to Victory. The Hustler, February 10, 1910 |
Crew & Swimming
|
1911-1912 Vanderbilt Crew and Swimming Team Photo and Roster. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Vanderbilt Aquatic Club Organized - Promotes Swimming and Boating. The Hustler, March 29, 1911 |
Gym (Gymnastics)
|
1909-1910 Vanderbilt Gym Team Photo and Roster. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
The Gymnasium Carnival: The Greatest Performance Ever Seen in Vanderbilt Gym. The Hustler, March 24, 1910 |
Track
|
1909-1910 Vanderbilt Track Team Photo and Roster. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archive |
|
Birmingham Meet: Vanderbilt Second for the Cup - Won Relay. The Hustler, May 12, 1910 |
