Resources
- Animal Diversity WebAnimal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
- Becoming HumanTrace the history of humans at this site from the Institute of Human Origins at Arizona State University
- Digitised DiseasesDigitised Diseases is an open access resource featuring human bones which have been digitised using 3D laser scanning, CT and radiography. The resource focuses on a wide range of pathological type specimens from archaeological and historical medical collections, specifically examples of chronic diseases which affect the human skeleton for which many of the physical changes are often not directly observable within clinical practice. Of major interest to many will be high fidelity photo-realistic digital representations of 3D bones that can be viewed, downloaded and manipulated on their computer, tablet or smartphone.
- eLucyeLucy is a website that will help you to learn about the world's most famous fossil, Lucy, a member of the species Australopithecus afarensis, who lived 3.2 million years ago. Lucy was discovered in 1974 in Ethiopia, and she is unique because over 40% of her skeleton was recovered, making her one of the most complete australopithecine fossils ever found.
- The eSkeletons ProjecteSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy. The purpose of this site is to enable you to view the bones of both human and non-human primates and to gather information about them from our osteology database.
- The Human Origins ProgramThis Smithsonian Institution program works to enhance scientific knowledge and public awareness of human evolutionary history.
- Paleobiology DatabaseThe Paleobiology Database seeks to provide researchers and the public with information about the entire fossil record. It has expanded continuously since 2000 thanks to the efforts of 303 paleontologists from around the world.
- PrimateLit: A Bibliographic Database for PrimatologyThe PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to present and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography).
- Tree of Life ProjectThe Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.
Resources
- The Leakey Foundation: For Research Related to Human OriginsThe mission of The Leakey Foundation is to increase scientific knowledge, education, and public understanding of human origins, evolution, behavior, and survival.
- World Health Organization (WHO)One of the leading authorities on health around the world, use this resource to research world cultures and disease
- Darwin OnlineDarwin Online is the largest and most widely consulted edition of the writings of Darwin ever published.
- Darwin Correspondence ProjectOn this site you can read and search the full texts of more than 7,000 of Charles Darwin’s letters, and find information on 8,000 more. Available here are complete transcripts of all known letters Darwin wrote and received up to the year 1868.
Books from the Catalog
A Companion to Biological Anthropology by Call Number: Central Library: GN60 .C62 2010ISBN: 9781405189002Publication Date: 2010-05-04An extensive overview of the rapidly growing field of biological anthropology; chapters are written by leading scholars who have themselves played a major role in shaping the direction and scope of the discipline. Extensive overview of the rapidly growing field of biological anthropology Larsen has created a who's who of biological anthropology, with contributions from the leading authorities in the field Contributing authors have played a major role in shaping the direction and scope of the topics they write about Offers discussions of current issues, controversies, and future directions within the area Presents coverage of the many recent innovations and discoveries that are transforming the subject
