Search Tips for Digital Newspapers
Limit by date range if at all possible as this will reduce the number of results exponentially.
Try combinations of search terms.
Be ready to execute multiple searches in order to get the results you are looking for.
Use specific search terms.
Remember to match the terminology to the time period or issue being discussed (i.e. searching the term "African-American" in 1920s newspaper will get you nowhere)
Important Newspaper Collections
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowHistorical access to the following newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Defender, The Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, The Cincinnati Enquirer, Cleveland Call & Post, The Commercial Appeal, Detroit Free Press, The Globe and Mail, Hartford Courant, The Jerusalem Post, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, Korea Times, Knoxville News Sentinel, Leftist Newspapers, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Courier Journal, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, New York Tribune, Norfolk Journal & Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, San Francisco Chronicle, South China Morning Post, St. Louis Post Dispatch, The Tennessean, The Times of India, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
- ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDirect link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and The Tennessean.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowNewspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowResearch diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers offers an unprecedented look back into the history of the United States—the story of its people, ideals, commerce, and everyday life. Includes the following collections: African American Newspapers Series 1 & 2, American Religion: Denominational Newspapers, Caribbean Newspapers, Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation Early American Newspapers, Series 2: The New Republic, Early American Newspapers: 1690-1789, Early American Newspapers: 1780-1789, and Hispanic American Newspapers.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. National and regional publications: African American, Caribbean, African, Arab, Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European, Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native People.
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers from North America, Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa and South Asia. (note: North American section includes Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America, and the US.)
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNews and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
- Tennessean (1812-2002) This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of Nashville's main daily newspaper.
- Associated Press Collections Archive This link opens in a new windowOriginal wire copy, personal papers, AP style books, and internal publications from the Associated Press Corporate Archive. Videos from the AP Archive and images from AP Images archive.
- International Coalition on NewspapersThe International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) provides a freely accessible database of bibliographic information for over 170,000 newspaper titles from the US, Canada, and 159 other countries.
AP Image Database
- AP Images This link opens in a new windowAssociated Press photographs, audio, graphics, news stories, and headlines.
Microfilm Newspaper Collections
The Vanderbilt Central Library has a large collection of newspapers in microfilm format. Beware that most newspapers have NO INDEXING. The list is alphabetical by state, followed by alphabetical by country. Click on the link below for title, dates of coverage, and location information.
