Save Time! Let the Databases Do the Work!
- Citation BuildersYou don't need to create your citations from scratch! Use this guide from Western Illinois University Libraries to find out more.
Most library databases contain a link for each article labeled "cite" or "cite this." You can click on these links to get a pre-generated citation from the database.
REMEMBER! Citations from databases are machine-generated, and they can and do contain mistakes. Make sure you review your citations closely to make sure they contain no errors.
Finding Sources
Vanderbilt University Library Catalog
Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:
Library Catalog vs. VU Collections vs. Articles
| Search Scope | What is included? | When should I use it? |
| Library Catalog |
|
|
| VU Collections |
|
|
| Articles |
|
|
For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
|
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question. |
|
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search. |
A Selection of Useful Subject Headings
Try a SUBJECT search using one of the Library of Congress Subject Headings listed below:
| Detective and Mystery Stories, English--History and Criticism |
​Detective and Mystery Stories, American--History and Critcism
|
The first set of databases focus on literary and aesthetic aspects of the texts assigned in this course. The second set of databases can be used to research cultural, historical, philosophical and legal aspects of the texts.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSubject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowProfiles of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights discussing their lives and careers and critical response to their works. Includes the Documentary Series, Main Series, and Yearbook.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndex of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowAbstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Journal articles, books, book chapters, such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new windowReference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Simultaneous access to CQ Almanac, CQ Congress Collection, CQ's Politics in America, CQ Political Handbook of the World, CQ Researcher, CQ Supreme Court Yearbook, and CQ Weekly.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books This link opens in a new windowLegal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, law review and other legal periodicals articles, etc.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new windowA database of databases. Simultaneously search MLAIB and ABELL, link out to JSTOR and Project Muse full-text articles, and access full-text of poetry, drama and prose fiction from 17th c. to the present day.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowProfiles of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights discussing their lives and careers and critical response to their works
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowPremier Resource for Literary Research. Indexes journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Google Scholar provides access to "peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations."
What Google Scholar does not contain, in most cases, is the fulltext of the articles -- but it does work with the library's Findit@VU service to help you get to the fulltext when available. If you are on campus, Findit@VU will automatically appear -- but if you are off campus it won't. Not clicking on Findit@VU may lead to you receiving a message indicating that you must purchase the article to view it.
Bookmark this link as your access point to Google Scholar to ensure that the Findit@VU links appears in your searches or follow the instructions for setting your preferences in the video below. Don't get caught paying for articles when you don't have to!
