Primary Sources
Southern African Liberation Struggles: Contemporaneous Documents, 1960-1994Call Number: Call Number: DT1079 .S67 2014 (9 volumes) CENTRAL STACKSCollection of personal narratives concerning the liberation movements in Southern Africa from 1960 to 1994. Analytical chapters are written in English, French and Portuguese ... The personal stories are written in the language in which they were collected; most of them are in English or Portuguese, but in the Tanzanian chapter they are in Kiswahili, while in the South Africa and Zimbabwe chapters there is a mixture of English and vernacular languages. Nine volume set.
- Archives Unbound This link opens in a new windowCollections on Africa include:
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies to League of Nations Mandates in Africa 1910-1929
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa, 1930-1939
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929
Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1918
Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1918-1935 - Confidential Print: Africa This link opens in a new windowImportant papers generated by the British Government's Foreign and Colonial Offices between 1834-1966, ranging from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowMonographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Collections: British Politics and Society, Asia & The West, British Theatre and Popular Culture, Corvey Collection of European Literature, Europe and Africa, Photography, Science, Technology, and Medicine Parts 1 & 2, Women Transnational Networks, Children Literature and Childhood, Mapping the World, Religion and the Periodical.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowPlatform to search across all Gale Primary Sources including Archives Unbound, Slavery and Anti-Slavery, and numerous British and U.S. historical newspapers and magazines.
- DISA: Digital Innovation South AfricaDISA is a freely accessible online scholarly resource focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowManuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences, predominantly from the British Library. Secondary resources include scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowHistorical and current working documents from the House of Commons and the House of Lords, including papers, debates, journals, bills, and acts. Also included are command papers, Hansard (Official Report of debates), and public petitions to Parliament.
- Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new windowPrimary source documents on key aspects of the history of slavery. The African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. Case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
- Slavery and Manumission Manuscripts of Timbuktu This link opens in a new window19th century manuscripts relating to slavery and manumission in Timbuktu, providing documentation of Africans in slavery in Muslim societies. In Arabic.
- Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database This link opens in a new windowRecords from slaving expeditions from archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. Information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. Statistical tables, graphs, maps, and timelines.
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries, established in this repository to archive and share their digital content.
CRL collections include little held primary sources available using Interlibrary Loan:
- Major microform and paper collections from Africa.
- More than 800,000 dissertations—mostly from European institutions.
- Largest collection of circulating newspapers in North America.
~ 6,500 international newspapers, many from Africa in African and European languages
~ 4,500 U.S. newspapers, many dating to the colonial era
~ 2,000 U.S. ethnic titles
- More than 38,000 foreign journals rarely held in U.S. libraries.
- In-depth holdings that support research in history of science, economics, law and government, immigration and population studies, international diplomacy, cultural studies, and more.
Search their catalog today!
