Available Online!
Encyclopedia Judaica by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780028659282Publication Date: 2006-12-12
Why Should I Start With These Resources?
Good question -- here are a few reasons:
- Get an overview of a new or complex topic
- Find authoritative information
- Find out the names of key players in a given area
- Locate terms that you can use in your research
- Help narrow (or expand) your topic
- Locate a bibliography of sources to help you start your research.
Online Resources
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and RomeThis multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
- The Oxford Classical Dictionary (current edition)'The Oxford Classical Dictionary' is the ultimate reference on the classical world. It contains over 6000 articles, including full-text contributions with multimedia.
- The Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD), 4th ed.The most authoritative and accessible dictionary of its kind, this is an essential reference for both scholars and non-specialists with an interest in the classical era.
- New Pauly This link opens in a new windowEncyclopaedic coverage of the second millennium BCE to early medieval Europe; with special emphasis on the interaction between Greco-Roman culture and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Also includes the aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of ancient heritage, and the history of classical scholarship.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowOxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is a literary guide to significant sources in the following subjects: Renaissance and Reform, International Relations, Medieval Studies, Atlantic History, Communications, Classics, Victorian Literature, Philosophy and Islamic Studies. Also a resource for Biblical Studies
- The Encyclopedia of Ancient HistoryA comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship on the entire ancient Mediterranean world.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of Cambridge titles covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
- Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques This link opens in a new windowArticles on the history of the Church, focused on people, places, and institutions. Includes biographies of bishops who officiated between 1198 and 1648.
- Encyclopaedia JudaicaUpdated edition of this lauded work on Judaism features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
Print Resources
- Paulys Real-Encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft
Central Library, Reference 4th-flr: DE5 .P33
- Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC)
Central Library, Reference 4th-flr: NX650 .M9 L494
The LIMC tries to present what we know of the iconography of Greek, Etruscan and Roman mythology as well as of the neighbouring Mediterranean cultures. Each of the illustrated figures of Greek, Etruscan and Roman mythology is discussed in alphabetic order, usually in an individual article of a uniform structure.
- Thesaurus Cultus et Rituum Antiquorum (ThesCRA)
Central Library, Oversize 3rd-flr: BL727 .T44 2004
- Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World
Central Library, Reference 6th-flr: ATLAS G1033 .B3 2000
In 99 full-color maps, the atlas recreates the entire world of the Greeks and Romans from the British Isles to the Indian subcontinent and deep into North Africa
- Encyclopaedic Prosopographical Lexicon of Byzantine History and Civilization
Central Library, 8th-flr (non-circ): DF506 .E6413 2007
Still in press. Volumes 1-3 available.
- Encyclopedia of Early Christianity
Divinity Subject Study Area 5: BR162.2 .E53 1999
- Encyclopedia of the Early Church
Divinity Subject Study Area 5: BR66.5 .D5813 1992 v.1-2
-
Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies
Divinity Subject Study Area 5: BR121.3 .O99 2008
