Leadership & Organizational Performance

This guide serves as a resource for the Leadership & Organizational Performance program within the LPO department at Peabody College.

The Elements of a Citation

Below is the information you will need in order to cite basic sources, such as a book, journal article or Web page.

 

Book

Levitt Steven D. and Stephen J. Dubner. Freakonomics: a rogue economist explores the hidden side of everything. New York : William Morrow, 2005.

Title

Freakonomics: a rogue economist explores the hidden side of everything

Author(s)

Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner

Place of publication

New York

Publisher

William Morrow

Copyright/Publication date

2005

 

Clues that this is a book:  

  • Contains only one title: Freakonomics: a rogue economist explores the hidden side of everything
  • Includes a place of publication: New York
  • Includes the name of a publishing company: William Morrow
  • Might or might not include page numbers.

 


Journal Article (print)

Liu, Jinghua, Miriam F. Cahn, Neil J. Dorans. "An Application of Score Equity Assessment: Invariance of Linkage of New SAT to Old SAT Across Gender Groups." Journal of Educational Measurement 43. 2 (2006): 113-29.

Article Title

An Application of Score Equity Assessment: Invariance of Linkage of New SAT to Old SAT Across Gender Groups

Author(s)

Jinghua Liu, Miriam F. Cahn, and Neil J. Dorans.

Journal Title (title of the journal or magazine in which the article appears

Journal of Educational Measurement

Journal volume and issue

Volume 43 Issue 2

Date of the Article

2006

Page numbers for the article

113-129

 

Clues that this is a print article: 

  • Contains the title of the article, sometimes in quotation marks: "An Application of Score Equity Assessment: Invariance of Linkage of New SAT to Old SAT Across Gender Groups."
  • Contains another title, the title of the journal, newspaper, or magazine in which the article appears, often underlined or in italics: Journal of Educational Measurement
  • Contains a volume and, sometimes, an issue number: 43. 2, or sometimes 43(2)
  • The date is usually only a year

 


Newspaper article

Bick, Julie. "The Long (and Sometimes Expensive) Road to the SAT." New York Times 28 May 2006, Section 3 p6.

Article Title

The Long (and Sometimes Expensive) Road to the SAT

Author(s)

Julie Bick

Newspaper title

New York Times

Date

May 28, 2006

Page

6

Edition or Section

3

 

Clues that this is a newspaper article: 

  • Like journal articles, it contains the title of the article (often in quotation marks) and the title of the publication
  • Unlike journal articles, the date includes the month and day in addition to the year
  • Some include section numbers: Section 3
  • Some include section numbers as part of the page numbers (e.g. A6, B4)

 


Article (online)

Popham, W. James. "Branded By a Test." Educational Leadership 63.7 (2006): 86-87. Academic Search Premier. EBSCO. Web. 22 Apr. 2010.

Article Title

Branded By a Test

Author(s)

James W. Popham

Journal Title (title of the journal or magazine in which the article appears)

Educational Leadership

Journal volume

Volume 63

Journal issue

Issue 7

Page numbers for the article

86-87

Database where you found the full-text of the article

Academic Search Premier

Database platform

EBSCO Host

Date article was accessed

22 April 2010

 

Clues that this is an online article: 

  • Includes the elements of an article citation, such as two titles, volume/issue numbers, and page numbers
  • Includes the name of the article database in which the article was found: Academic Search Premier
  • Contains a URL to the article database in which the article was found: http://search.epnet.com
  • Includes a date of access

 


Web Page

(all of the elements might not be available for each web page) 

Vouchers. 2010. National Education Association. Web. 3 May 2010.

Author

no author listed

Title of web page

Vouchers

Format

web

Web site host or publisher

National Education Association

Date of copyright or date page was updated

2010

Date page was accessed

May 3, 2010

 

Clues that this is a web page: 

  • Often does not have individual authors
  • Includes a URL to the site
  • Does not include the name of a library or library database
  • Includes a date of access

 

(Adapted with permission from the Utah State University Libraries, 2011)