Research Guides: The Library and You: How to Make the Most Out of Your Vanderbilt Experience: Finding Journal Articles

Use Article Database To Find Articles

Use the Database Search to discover databases that will help you find journal articles as well as magazine and newspaper articles. In most cases you will be able to connect to the full-text of the article directly from the database.

For your convenience we have grouped databases by subject area to help you identify databases that are appropriate to your research.

Below are selected examples of the databases we have available:

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary engineering database providing citations and abstracts to journal articles, technical reports and conference proceedings.
User Limit: 500.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
Coverage: 1955 to present. User Limit: 6.

Library Lingo

citation: A brief description of a text (book, article, report, World Wide Web page, or other) that has been quoted, or used as a source.

database: A comprehensive collection of related data (articles or other materials) organized for convenient access, usually through a computer.

full-text: Refers to a database or other electronic resource which provides the entire text of the works it contains (e.g., journal articles), in addition to the citation and abstract of each work.

interlibrary loan: A library service whereby students, faculty, and staff may request to borrow materials from another library if the item is not owned by the UM libraries.

microform: Film medium for storage of miniaturized text. Includes both microfiche and microfilm.

periodical: A publication distributed on a regular schedule (e.g., weekly or monthly). Popular periodicals are called magazines and scholarly periodicals are called journals. Newspapers are also periodicals.

Definitions from the University of Maryland Libraries' Library Lingo dictionary.