Skip to main content

Primary Sources: Useful Links

This guide is an introduction to primary sources research.

About Useful Links

Explore these links for additional information on primary source research.

Useful Links

About Primary Sources

Guidelines for Evaluating Primary Documents
From the Bobst Library at New York University.  Includes tips for evaluating primary sources as well as content found online.

Primary Source Village
From the University of Illinois Archives.  Nicely done tutorial on what primary sources are, shows how to find material in an archive, and offers advice on evaluating sources you find.

Using Primary Sources on the Web
From the American Library Association's Reference and User Services Assocation.  Includes tips for searching for sources online and offers advice on evaluating web content for accuracy and reliability.

Archives and Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives, Vanderbilt University
Home page for Special Collections and University Archives.  Primary repository for non-medical rare books and manuscripts for Vanderbilt University.

Special Collections, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Home page for the Vanderbilt Medical Center Special Collections library.  Primary repository for medical related collections and archives for Vanderbilt University.

Special Collections and Archives, Fisk University
Home page for the Special Collections and Archives library at Fisk University.  

Special Collections, Nashville Public Library
Home page for the Nashville Room, the local history division of the Nashville Public Library.

Tennessee State Library and Archives
Home page for the Tennessee State Library and Archives.

Library of Congress
Home page for the Library of Congress.  Explore their digital collections, search their catalog, and learn more about their programs.

The National Archives (United States)
Home page for the National Archives.  Search their catalog, plan a research trip, or order copies of records.