Online Encyclopedias in Anthropology
The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781118924396Publication Date: 2018-10-05
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780195108156Publication Date: 2001-06-07
Online Resources
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowRecommended titles:
The Cambridge History of Latin America (also available in print: Central Library: F1410 .C1834 1984) and The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas (also available in print: Central Library: E77 .N62 1996) - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of Cambridge titles covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowArticles and books on Archaeology, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. Some content in Business & Management, Economics & Finance, Literature, Psychology, and Religion.
- Countries and Their CulturesAlso available in print: Central Library Stacks: GN307 .C68 2001 (non-circ)
- Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic ConflictsAlso available in print:
Central Library Reference GN496 .E56 2003
Print Resources
- Archaeological Method and Theory: An Encyclopedia
Central LIbrary, Reference, 4th-flr: CC75 .A654 2000
- The Dictionary of Human Geography
Central Library, Reference, 4th flr: GF4 .D52 2009
- Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
Central Library, Stacks, 5th flr: GN307 .E52 1996 (non-circ)
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Central Library, Stacks, 5th flr: GN550 .E53 1991 (non-circ)
- Handbook of Middle American Indians
Central LIbrary, Stacks, 6th flr: F1434 .H3
Anthropology Websites
- UN's World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. Contains over 300 items related to Latin America and the Carribbean
- National Anthropological Archives (NAA) and Human Studies Film Archives (HSFA)The National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives collect and preserve historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of anthropology. Their collections represent the four fields of anthropology – ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology – and include fieldnotes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other preeminent scholars.
- Additional WebsitesClick here for a selection of web resources for Anthropology
