Skip to main content

Library Orientation: Getting Started with Research

The Library Can Help You Succeed at Vanderbilt

Need Information? Here's Where to Start!

Business Research Guides
Organized by subject and designed to help you get started. Available 24/7. Highlights most relevant databases, books and vetted websites on 50+ popular topics. Examples:

Finding the Right Database

The Vanderbilt University Library licenses access to hundreds of databases to support your coursework and projects. They contain much more information than what is available on the free Internet. Sound business research combines the use of both resources. The library databases are industry standards used in corporations worldwide; experience and knowledge with these tools will enhance your business skill set.

Some library databases include a certain type of information, such as annual reports, market research reports, industry overviews, or statistical data. Others are focused on a subject, such as healthcare, e-marketing, or finance. Ask for help navigating these vast resources to strengthen your project and assignment results.

Business Databases A-Z

You can access most of the Library Databases remotely from anywhere by logging in with your VUNet ID. A few databases such as Bloomberg, Datastream Advance, or Capital IQ are only available on the Walker Management Library computers.

Access and use restrictions apply to some resources, and use of these resources imply acceptance of our Copyright and Licensing Restrictions and are in alignment with the Owen Honor Code.

Librarians' Top Databases

Business News and Articles:

  • Business Source Complete - Excellent place to start. Contains articles from over 40,000 business and trade publications. Covers most business areas.
  • Factiva- Powerful search engine for business articles and news.

Companies and Industry:

Market Research and Demographics: