Skip to main content

New Testament: Databases

Need Help?

To schedule a training session on strategies for searching one or more of the databases contact Chris Benda.

Getting Full Text

What is ?

FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.

You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Acorn.

An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.

Databases in New Testament

 

ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials

The American Theological Library Association's ATLA Religion Database contains over one million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages. It includes article citations from 650 journals, essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and book review citations. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Included within the database is the ATLAS Full-Text Plus database which provides online full-text versions of a core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly periodicals in the field of religion.  Citations for which a full-text article is available will include a URL linking the citation to the article.

Bibloi

Analytical Greek New Testament with full grammatical tags and dictionary forms coded in the text, accompanied by a modern, up to date, Greek dictionary -- Hebrew Old Testament (BHS) with full grammatical tags and dictionary forms coded in the text, accompanied by a modern, up to date, Hebrew dictionary -- Greek Old Testament (Septuagint) with full grammatical tags and dictionary forms coded in the text -- Revised Standard Version, including the Apocrypha -- New Revised Standard Version -- King James Version -- Latin Vulgate -- Miller, Friberg and Friberg Analytical Lexicon of the Greek New Testament -- Louw and Nida's Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament based on Semantic Domains -- Liddell and Scott's An intermediate Greek-English lexicon -- Brown, Driver and Brigg's Hebrew and English lexicon of the Old Testament.


Chicago Manuel of Style Online

Style guide for preparing academic manuscripts.  Covers rights and permissions, grammar, quotations, illustrations, tables, abbreviations, and citation formats for footnotes and bibliographies.

 

Christian Classics Etheral Library

Classic Christian writings in electronic format.

 

Gender Studies Database

Gender Studies Database (GSD) combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available.Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 869,000 records, with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.


JSTOR

Archive for major scholarly journals. Coverage dates vary by title and most do not have current issues.  Search the entire database, selected journals, or browse the journal table of contents.   See a list of Vanderbilt’s JSTOR collections and current subscriptions at  http://www.jstor.org/action/collectionsAvailable.

 

Oxford African American Studies Center

Oxford African American Studies Center contains over 7500 articles from five Oxford University Press encyclopedias and 18 other OUP reference sources. Covers all aspects of the African American experience from before 1400 to the present.  The database includes articles, primary source documents, images, maps, charts, tables, and government documents.  The African American National Biography is also included in this database.

 

Oxford Biblical Studies Online

Includes the texts of the six Oxford Bibles, running scholarly annotations, and the Oxford Bible commentary as well as articles drawn from the Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea scrolls and Oxford companion to the Bible, among other sources.

 

Review of Biblical Literature (RBL)

Searchable database of book reviews in biblical studies and related fields.

 

Revised Common Lectionary

The RCL is an ecumenical lectionary system developed by the North American Consultation on Common Texts (CCT) and the International English Language Liturgical Consultation (ELLC).  It is based on the Roman Lectionary, Ordo Lectionum Missae.  The CCT created a provisional lectionary in 1983, which many churches adopted on a trial basis.  After receiving suggestions from those churches, the CCT published the Revised Common Lectionary for widespread use in 1992.

 

Searchable Greek Inscriptions

Collection of ancient Greek inscriptions.  Can be used in tandem with PHI Workplace Version 10.

 

Synoptic Gospels Primer

This site includes a number of tools for the literary analysis of the Synoptic Gospels, including a search engine (powered by Google), a glossary of important terms and key figures, and links to other resources on the issue of the relationship among the three gospel texts.