Skip to main content

Theology: Databases

Need Help?

To schedule a training session on strategies for searching one or more of the databases contact Bobby Smiley.

Getting Full Text

What is ?

FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.

You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Acorn.

An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.

Databases in Theology

ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials

The American Theological Library Association's ATLA Religion Database contains over one million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages. It includes article citations from 650 journals, essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and book review citations. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Included within the database is the ATLAS Full-Text Plus database which provides online full-text versions of a core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly periodicals in the field of religion.

Cambridge Companions Online

Cambridge Collections Online provides full-text access to the Cambridge Companions. Titles cover literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies. Content will increase as new essays and bibliographies become available.

The Digital Karl Barth Library

The current release features Barth's magnum opus, Die kirchliche Dogmatik, in its entirety. Also featured are the first 36 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which includes hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings. These volumes are supplemented by seven additional German works that have not yet been published as part of the Gesamtausgabe. New content, including English translations of Barth's major works, will be added on a quarterly basis.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd

The 2nd edition of the classic Edwards (1967) encyclopedia.  Provides original and updated articles on  African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; and much more.  Includes approximately 1,000 biographies

JSTOR

Archive for major scholarly journals. Coverage dates vary by title and most do not have current issues. Search the entire database, selected journals, or browse the journal table of contents. 

Oxford Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is a literary guide to significant sources in the following subjects, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, Buddhism, Classics, Communication, Education, Hinduism, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies, Military History, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, and Victorian Literature.

Religion and Philosophy Collection

This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Provides scholarly articles on individual philosophers and concepts, and survey articles on major philosophical themes. Includes good coverage of non-Western traditions.

Wabash Center Guide to Internet Resources for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion

A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion: syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, websites, bibliographies, listserv discussion groups, liturgies, reference resources, software, etc. The purpose of the Guide is to encourage and facilitate the incorporation of electronic resources into teaching.

 

Search a complete list of databases made available through the Jean and Alexander Heard Library system

Databases for Primary Sources

While informing our work with articles from renowned scholars and theologians is important, there is no substitute for theology informed directly by primary sources. Here are several links to databases providing free access to classics from a variety of religious traditions:

 

Bibleworks v.8

NOTE: ONLY ACCESSIBLE FROM WITHIN THE DIVINITY LIBRARY.

Provides exegesis and exposition of the original texts and translations of the scriptures, including original Hebrew OT and Greek NT, Septuaginta Greek LXX, plus several English, Spanish, German, Dutch, Italian, Latin, Danish, Finnish, French and Hungarian Bibles; with lexical, morphological, grammatical, and syntactical concording and textual and reference access

 

Alim

The Alim Web site contains key Islamic documents in both Arabic and English. One of its distinctive features is the ability to hear portions of the Qur’an recited. 

ALTAFSIR.COM

Provides the original Arabic texts of 110 or more books of Qur’anic Commentary, Interpretation and Explanation (tafsir or tafseer), recitation (tajwid) tutorials and hadith collections, and other fields, pertaining to the study of Qur’anic exegesis. The site also includes audio Qur’an recitations; resources on Qur’an syntax; resources on the Contexts of Revelation (asbâb al-nuzûl); resources on the meanings of words found in the Qur’an, and other works on the Qur’anic sciences.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library

Classic Christian writings in electronic format. Great resource for free access to the actual texts of the early Church Fathers, both pre- and post-Nicea.

Classical Latin Texts

This website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.

Internet Sacred Texts Archive

Freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, in some cases, in the original language.

Library of Latin Texts

Searchable library of Latin texts. Includes texts from important patristic writers such as Ambrose, Augustine, Ausonius, Cassian, Cyprian, Gregory the Great, Jerome, Marius Victorinus, Novatian, Paulinus of Nola, Prudentius, and Tertullian in their original language.

Past Masters

Scholarly editions of major philosophers, from Aristotle to Santayana; and the collected letters of major English writers: Austen, Burney, Coleridge, Wordsworth, and selected Romantics. Also includes the Oxford Classical Dictionary and the Oxford Duden German Dictionary.

Patrologiae Graecae

Electronic version of J.P. Migne's Patrologiae Graecae. PG contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. PG is a collection of the writings of the church leaders who wrote in Greek, including both the Eastern "Fathers" and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century. It includes, for example, the early writings collectively known as the Apostolic Fathers, such as the Epistles of Clement and The Shepherd of Hermas, the church historian Eusebius, the controversial theologian Origen, and the Cappadocian Fathers Basil the Great, Gregory of Nazianzus, and Gregory of Nyssa. The texts are generally interlaced, with one column of Greek and a corresponding column on the other side of the page that is the Latin translation. Where the Greek has been lost, such as in Irenaeus, the full text appears only in Latin, and the extant Greek fragments of the work are interspersed throughout the Latin text.

Post-Reformation Digital Library

The Post-Reformation Digital Library is a collection of resources relating to the development of theology during the Post-Reformation/Early Modern era (late 15th-18th c.), hosted by the H. Henry Meeter Center for Calvin Studies of Calvin College and Calvin Theological Seminary. The library provides links to full text of many of the resources which it indexes, as well as indexing and links to various secondary sources and reference materials.

Vetus Latina Database

Comprehensive patristic records for the Vetus Latina Institut in Beurum. Brepolis homepage in English, French, German, and Dutch; user interface in German; text in Latin.