Skip to main content

Critical Studies in Asian, Islamic, and Jewish Traditions: Critical Studies Databases

Need Help?

To schedule a training session on strategies for searching one or more of the databases contact Chris Benda.

Databases in Critical Studies

ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials

The American Theological Library Association's ATLA Religion Database contains over one million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages. It includes article citations from 650 journals, essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and book review citations. Coverage is from 1949 to the present.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)

The BAS Online contains references on all subjects (especially the Humanities and Social Sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. The database includes references to books, journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, and conference proceedings.

Cambridge Companions Online

Cambridge Collections Online provides full-text access to the Cambridge Companions.  Titles cover literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies. Content will increase as new essays and bibliographies become available.

Cambridge Histories Online

The Cambridge Histories provides access to more than 250 volumes published since the 1960's. CHO will cover 14 subject areas, including General History, Regional History, Literary Studies, Philosophy, and Religious Studies. New titles are added each year.

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (DDB)

A compilation of Chinese logograph-based terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources. The content of this reference work is pan-Buddhist in character. Dictionaries and other reference sources are in many Asian languages (Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Pali, Sanskrit and Tibetan).

Digital South Asia Library (DSAL)

The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia including books and journals, full-text dictionaries, bibliographies, images, maps, and statistical information from the colonial period through the present. This resource is one of the ecollections of the Center for Research Libraries.

Encyclopedia of Buddhism

This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Daoism, Islam, and Christianity.

Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed.

The second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia, intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Preserving the best of the first edition's cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of the classic work, making it relevant to the questions and interests of all researchers.

Hartford Institute for Religion Research

The Hartford Institute for Religious is devoted to sociological research in the area of religion. The site provides information about various Institute research projects on issues such as women and religion, congregations, religion and the family, etc. Links to articles by leading scholars in the sociology of religion are also included, as well as bibliographies, syllabi, and other scholarly resources.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is a literary guide to significant sources in the following subjects, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, Buddhism, Classics, Communication, Education, Hinduism, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies, Military History, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, and Victorian Literature.

Pluralism Project

The Pluralism Project studies and documents the growing religious diversity of the United States, with a special view to its new immigrant religious communities. Recounts the project's history and offers access to an events calendar, project affiliates, images, and related articles. Lists advisors and includes project research. Provides access to project files, bibliographies, syllabi, and a directory of religious centers. Links to the committee and university home pages and to other religious resources.

Religion and Philosophy Collection

This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.

 

Search a complete list of databases made available through the Jean and Alexander Heard Library system