Skip to main content

Historical Studies and Church History: Databases

Cambridge Histories Online

The Cambridge Histories provides access to more than 250 volumes published since the 1960’s.  CHO will cover 14 subject areas, including General History, Regional History, Literary Studies, Philosophy, and Religious Studies. New titles are added each year.

Electronic Resource

The Post-Reformation Digital Library . .
is a collection of  resources relating to the development of theology during the
Post-Reformation / Early Modern era (ca. 16th-18th c.), hosted by the H. Henry Meeter Center for Calvin Studies of Calvin College and Calvin Theological Seminary.

Databases in Historical Studies / Church History

To schedule a training session on strategies for searching one or more of the databases, contact Chris Benda.

African American Historical Serials Collection

Features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. Includes newspapers and magazines, reports and annuals from various African American organizations, churches and educational and service institutions.

ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials

Contains over one million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages. Includes article citations from 650 journals, essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and book review citations.

ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Historical Monographs Collection, Series 1

Presents more than 15,000 titles from 13th Century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions.

ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Historical Monographs Collection, Series 2

Cconsists of nearly 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923.

Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina

Provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts.

Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques (Online)

A reference source on the history of the Christian church, with 70,000 entries covering individuals, ecclesiastical institutions, and church history by geographical region.

JSTOR

Archive for major scholarly journals. Search the entire database, selected journals, or browse the journal table of contents.

Oxford Bibliographies -- Renaissance and Reformation

Combines the features of a high-level encyclopedia and the features of a traditional bibliography for the period  that spans the 14th through the 17th centuries.

Revue d'histoire ecclésiastique. Bibliographie

Indexes journal articles, books and reviews. Entries contain links to full text in   Dictionnaire d’histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques  and to some full text journal sources.

Search a complete list of databases made available through the Jean and Alexander Heard Library system

Tip

Did you know that you can search for all of the databases below (and more) at one time?

ATLA Religion Database

America History and Life

Catholic Periodical & Literature Index

Gender Studies Database

New Testament Abstracts

Old Testament Abstracts

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Just open one of the databases (e.g., ATLA Religion Database) and click on the "Choose Databases" link above the search fields:

 

 

In the resulting window, select as many databases as you'd like to search, and then click the "OK" button. You're ready to go!

Note: searching across databases limits the kinds of searches that you can do. If you want to use specific subject keywords that work in one database rather than another, you'll need to search each database separately.