Skip to main content

Religion, Psychology, and Culture: Databases

Monthly acquisitions list and subject updates

Need Help?

To schedule a training session on strategies for searching one or more of the databases contact Chris Benda.

Getting Full Text

What is ?

FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.

You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Acorn.

An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.

Databases in Religion, Psychology, Culture

ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials 

This database contains over one million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages. It includes article citations from 650 journals, essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and book review citations. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Included within the database is the ATLAS Full-Text Plus database which provides online full-text versions of a core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly periodicals in the field of religion.  Citations for which a full-text article is available will include a URL linking the citation to the article.

Gender Studies

Gender Studies Database combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available.Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 869,000 records, with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.

JSTOR

JSTOR is an archive for major scholarly journals. Coverage dates vary by title and most do not have current issues.  Search the entire database, selected journals, or browse the journal table of contents.  See a list of Vanderbilt’s JSTOR collections and current subscriptions at  http://www.jstor.org/action/collectionsAvailable.

Philosopher's Index

The Philosopher's Index provides citations to articles, books, and dissertations in the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics. It is also a rich source of material on the philosophy of various disciplines, such as education, history, law, religion, and science.

PsycINFO

This is a key database for journals, articles, books, dissertations, and more in various fields of psychology. Subjects include: Applied psychology, Communication systems, Developmental psychology, Educational psychology, Experimental human and animal psychology, Personality, Psychological and physical disorders, Physiological psychology and neuroscience, Professional personnel and issues, Psychometrics and statistics, Social psychology, Social processes and issues, Sports psychology and leisure, Treatment and prevention.

Religion and Philosophy Collection

This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.

Sociological Abstracts

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.

 

To schedule a training session on strategies for searching one or more of the databases, contact Chris Benda.