Skip to main content

Psychology and Human Development Resources (P&HD): Handbooks

Psychology Handbooks

Oxford Psychology Handbooks
The Vanderbilt Libraries have electronic access to all Oxford Psychology Handbooks published since 2013--more than 100 handbooks in all. Click the link above to see a searchable list of the available handbooks. See the bottom of this page for available older handbooks.

Wiley-Blackwell Psychology Handbooks
The Vanderbilt Libraries have a subscription to Wiley-Blackwell's many psychology handbooks, which are too numerous to list here in full.  A sampling of those related to developmental psychology is given below, followed by other handbooks of possible interest.

Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development. 2nd ed. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011)
(Online only)

Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development. 2nd ed. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011)
(Online only)

Wiley Handbook on the Development of Children's Memory. (Wes Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2014)
(Online only)

Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development. 2 volumes. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010)
(Online: Volume 1 ; Volume 2 ; Print: RJ131 .B475 2010 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Wiley Handbook of Developmental Psychology in Practice: Implementation and Impact. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley, 2016)
(Online only)

Wiley Handbook of Early Childhood Development Programs, Practices, and Policies. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley, 2017)
(Online only)

Wiley Handbook of What Works in Child Maltreatment: An Evidence-Based Approach to Assessment and Intervention in Child Protection. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2017)
(Online only)

Handbook of the Neuropsychology of Language. 2 volumes. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012)
(Online only)

Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Adulthood and Aging. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012)
(Online only)

Handbook of Developmental Science, Behavior, and Genetics. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010)
(Online ; Print: BF121 .H2113 2010 -- Central Library stacks)

Handbook of Experimental Phenomenology: Visual Perception of Shape, Space and Appearance. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2013)
(Online only)

The Science of Reading: A Handbook. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2005)
(Online only)

Handbook of Research Methods in Developmental Science. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2004)
(Online ; Print: BF713.5 .H36 2005 -- Peabody Library stacks)

*********

Handbook of Psychology. 2nd ed. 12 volumes. (New York: Wiley, 2012)
(Online only)
[1st edition of this title is available in Central Library reference: BF121 .H1955 2003]

Cambridge Handbook of Child Language. 2nd ed. (Cambridge, UK: Cambridge UP, 2015)
(Online only)

Handbook of Psychophysiology. 4th ed. (Cambridge, UK: Cambridge UP, 2016)
(Online only)

Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science. 4 volumes. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2015)
(Print only: BF721. H242 2015 -- Peabody Library reference)

Wiley Handbook of Developmental Psychology in Practice. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2015)
(Online only)

APA Educational Psychology Handbook. 3 volumes. (Washington, DC: APA, 2012)
(Print only: LB1051 .A618 2012 -- Peabody Library reference)

APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology. 3 volumes. (Washington, DC: APA, 2012)
(Print only: B76.5 .A73 2012 -- Peabody Library reference)

APA Handbook of Sexuality and Psychology. 2 volumes. (Washington, DC: APA, 2014)
(Online only: Volume 1 ; Volume 2)

APA Handbook of Psychology, Religion, and Spirituality. 2 volumes. (Washington, DC: APA, 2013)
(Online only: Volume 1 ; Volume 2)

Cambridge Handbook of Cognitive Linguistics. (Cambridge, UK: Cambridge UP, 2017)
(Online only)

Cambridge Handbook of Cognitive Science. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2012)
(Online only)

Cambridge Handbook of Communication Disorders. (Cambridge, UK: Cambridge UP, 2014)
(Online only)

Cambridge Handbook of Computational Psychology. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2008)
(Print only: BF311 .C187 2008 -- Central Library stacks)

Cambridge Handbook of Consciousness. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2007)
(Print only: B808.9 .C36 2007 -- Central Library stacks)

Cambridge Handbook of Creativity. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2010)
(Online only)

Cambridge Handbook of Intelligence. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2011)
(Online only)

Cambridge Handbook of the Learning Sciences. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2006)
(Online and print: LB1060 .C35 2006 and LB1060 .C35 2014 [2nd ed.] -- Peabody Library stacks)

Cambridge Handbook of Metaphor and Thought. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2008)
(Print only: P301.5 .M48 C35 2008 -- Central Library stacks)

Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behavior. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2008)
(Print only: HB74 .P8 C365 2008 -- Central Library stacks)

Cambridge Handbook of Situated Cognition. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2009)
(Print only: BF311 .C19 2009 -- Central Library stacks)

Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2007)
(Print only: HM1033 .C34 2007 -- Central Library stacks)

Cambridge Handbook of Thinking and Reasoning. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2005)
(Online and print: BF441 .C265 2005 -- Central Library stacks)

Cambridge Handbook of Visuospatial Thinking. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2005)
(Print only: BF316.6 .C36 2005 -- Central Library stacks)

Handbook of African American Psychology. (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2009)
(Print only: E185.625 .H35 -- Central Library stacks)

Handbook of Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience. 2nd ed. (Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 2008)
(Online only)

Handbook of Spatial Cognition. (Washington, DC: APA, 2013)
(Online and print: BF311 .H3346 2013 -- Central Library stacks)

Handbook of Psycholinguistics. 2nd ed. (Boston: Elsevier, 2006)
(Online only)

IAAP Handbook of Applied Psychology. (Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011)
(Online only)

Oxford Companion to the Mind. 2nd ed. (New York: Oxford UP, 2004)
(Online and print: BF31 .094 2004 -- Central Library stacks)

Oxford Handbook of Anxiety and Related Disorders. (New York: Oxford UP, 2009)
(Print only: RC531 .O94 2009 -- Central Library stacks)

Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology. (New York: Oxford UP, 2012)
(Online only)

Oxford Handbook of Developmental Linguistics. (Oxford, UK: Oxford UP, 2016)
(Print only: P118 .O935 2016 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Oxford Handbook of Eating Disorders. (New York: Oxford UP, 2010)
(Print only: RC552. E18 097 2010 -- Central Library stacks)

Oxford Handbook of Eye Movements. (New York: Oxford UP, 2011)
(Online only)

Oxford Handbook of Interdisciplinarity. (Oxford: Oxford UP, 2017)
(Online only)

Oxford Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology. (New York: Oxford UP, 2012)
(Print only: BF131 .O94 2012 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Neuroscience. (New York: Oxford UP, 2009)
(Online only)

Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Cognitive Science. (New York: Oxford UP, 2012)
(Online only)

Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology and Work. (New York: Oxford UP, 2010)
(Print only: BF204.6 .O954 2010 -- Central Library stacks)

Oxford Handbook of Psycholinguistics. (New York: Oxford UP, 2007)
(Print only: BF455 .O94 2007 -- Central Library stacks)

Oxford Handbook of Thinking and Reasoning. (New York: Oxford UP, 2013)
(Print only: BF441 .O94 2013 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Oxford Handbook of Universal Grammar. (Oxford, UK: Oxford UP, 2017)
(Print only: P201 .O946 2017 -- Peabody Library stacks)

SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology. 2nd ed. (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2017)
(Online only)