Skip to main content

Children's and Young Adult Book Awards: Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children's Video

The final Carnegie Medal for the most outstanding video productions for children was awarded in 2017.

Carnagie Medal Criteria

The Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children's Video, supported by the Carnegie Corporation of New York , was awarded for the first time in 1991 to honor outstanding video productions for children released during the previous year. The annual award is given to the video's producer by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of ALA , through a Carnegie endowment.

Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919) may be best-remembered by his establishment of free public libraries meant to make available to everyone a means of self-education. In 1881, when he began the project, very few public libraries existed; he spent over $56 million to build 2,509 libraries throughout the English-speaking world. After the program was terminated in 1917, the Carnegie Corporation continued for about 40 years in providing funds to improve libraries' services. Today the Corporation continues to fund programs for adult education and education in the fine arts.

Video productions that receive the Andrew Carnegie Medal meet criteria that include the following: they show respect for a child's intelligence and imagination, and reflect and encourage children's interests; they take advantage of the special techniques of the medium, including visuals, voices, music, language, and sound effects; and, if adaptations of materials originally produced in other mediums, they remain true to, expand, or complement the work. Only entries originally released in the United States , and produced by a U.S. citizen or resident or by a company headquartered in the U.S. are eligible.

Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children's Video winners, 1991 to present

2017 Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children's Video

Package cover: "Drum Dream Girl: How One Girl's Courage Changed Music"

Ryan Swenar, Dreamscape Media, LLC, producer of "Drum Dream Girl: How One Girl's Courage Changed Music," is the Carnegie Medal winner.

Adapted from Margarita Engle's book, a girl in 1930s Cuba aspires to play the drums, a privilege afforded only to boys. Based on the life of Chinese-African-Cuban-Milano Castro Zaldarriage, this story demonstrates how the power of persistence can break barriers, shatter expectations, and make one's dreams a reality.

2016 Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children's Video

Package cover: That Is NOT a Good Idea!
Weston Woods Studios, Inc., and author/illustrator Mo Willems, producers of “That Is NOT a Good Idea!” are the 2016 recipients of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children’s video. 
In an innovative adaptation of this read-aloud favorite, Goose accepts an invitation to accompany Fox on a simple stroll -- or is it? Watch along with a comical chorus of goslings as they react to this cautionary tale.      
Pete List brilliantly directs and animates this cinematic wonder that expertly incorporates classic silent movie elements. A superlative score by Lucas Elliot Eberl and the dynamic voice work of Mo and Cher Willems, supported by an exuberant gaggle of young voices, evoke the feeling of melodrama and suspense. 

2015 Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children's Video


Paul R. Gagne and Melissa Reilly Ellard, Weston Woods Studios, Inc., producers of “Me…Jane,” are the Carnegie Medal winners. This transcendent adaptation of Patrick McDonnell’s 2012 Caldecott Honor draws viewers into the childhood of a young Jane Goodall who, with beloved stuffed chimpanzee, Jubilee, is transformed by what she observes in her own backyard, a “magical world full of joy and wonder.”

Peabody Library

Amy Corbitt's picture
Amy Corbitt
Peabody Library 308,
located next to the CMC.