Skip to main content

Databases for Chemists and Chemical Engineers: Other Web Databases

A collection of databases for locating articles, physical and chemical properties, spectra and other information of interest to chemists and chemical engineers. Many of the databases are limited to Vanderbilt faculty, students and staff.

Databases

  Databases with an * after the name are accessible only to Vanderbilt students, faculty and staff.

Burger's medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development*.  7th ed. Online version of the print classic.

CASSI. CAS Source Index Search Tool

ChemCalc    calculates the molecular formula, molecular mass, exact mass, elemental analysis and plots the isotopic distribution graph.

DGRweb. Online version of the ACS Driectory of Graduate Research. DGRweb includes
access to 1999-2011 databases.

e-EROS Encyclopedia of Regents for Organic Synthesis*. Copyright 2006

Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry* - continues Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry

Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis*. Copyright 2008. Contains all contents from the print volumes of this essential reference.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology*. Copyright 2001

OPSIN - Chemical name to structure converter

Science of Synthesis*. Includes Houben Weyl Methods of Organic Chemistry.

Technical Programming Archive of Past National Meetings (2004-present) - abstracts of papers presents at the ACS meetings

 

Help

To get help with any of these databases, or if you have problems logging in contact:

  • Kitty Porter
  • 3812 Stevenson Center
  • Office: 343-7106
  • Reference: 322-2717
  • kitty.porter@vanderbilt.edu