Skip to main content

Databases for Chemists and Chemical Engineers: Bibliographic and Patent Databases

A collection of databases for locating articles, physical and chemical properties, spectra and other information of interest to chemists and chemical engineers. Many of the databases are limited to Vanderbilt faculty, students and staff.

Databases

 

Databases with an * after the name are accessible only to Vanderbilt students, faculty and staff.

SciFinder* -  Online version of Chemical abstracts. 1906 to present.  Also includes Medline plus a chemical reactions database, a chemical catalog, a chemical regulations database, and a synthesis planner


Web of Science*  Expanded Science Citation Index, 1965 to present. Includes links to fulltext electronic journals.


PubMed  Expanded medline. 1967 to present. Also includes ties to sequence, genome, and compound databases as well as connections to online journal articles from several publishers.


INSPEC*   1896 to present.  Includes links to electronic journals. Excellent source of information on  most aspects of physical and theoretical chemistry including atoms, molecular,  intermolecular forces, and thermodynamics.

EI Compendex Web*  1884 to present. This interdisciplinary engineering database provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, technical reports and conference proceedings. All engineering disciplines are covered.


Biosis Previews*  1980 to present. Major database for the biological sciences.

Google Scholar  Articles from scholarly journals and websites. Links to fulltext articles.

U.S. Patent and Trademark Databases  Fulltext and page images of US Patents from 1976 to present from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

Google Patents  Database of patents available from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Good for printing out complete patents. Searches farther back that the USPTO database.

Other Scientific Databases  A-Z list of science databases selected by librarians in Science & Engineering Library.

EndNote

LibGuide on EndNote and EndNoteWeb

If you are one of the many people who use EndNote to help you organize your references, but are having problems, take heart.

Rick Stringer-Hye and Chris Benda have created a LibGuide to help you with EndNote and EndNote Web.

 EndNote and EndNote Web

Help

To get help with any of these databases, or if you have problems logging in contact:

 

E-Journal Search


  

Acorn Search

Acorn

Advanced Search | My Account