The Eskind Biomedical Library is closed for renovations from August 1, 2017 to July 31, 2018. This webpage will be your source for the latest information on library services during this time. Please direct all library-related renovation questions to Philip Walker, Interim Director.
Library staff will be in Light Hall to provide general support, reference/research assistance, one-to-one training, Students, staff, and faculty are also welcome to utilize the space to work or study.
Pearl Chai, Document Delivery, firstname.lastname@example.org, (615) 936-1370
Camille Ivey, Reference and Instruction, email@example.com, (615) 875-9613
Heather Laferriere, Reference and Instruction, firstname.lastname@example.org, (615) 936-1387
Dan McCollum, Access Services, email@example.com, (615) 936-6176
Bharathi Polavarapu, Document Delivery, firstname.lastname@example.org, (615) 936-1405
Thanita Sweat, Technical Services, email@example.com, (615) 936-3104
Rachel Walden, Reference and Instruction, firstname.lastname@example.org, (615) 936-3459
Philip Walker, Interim Director, email@example.com, (615) 936-2200
Ask A Librarian: Submit questions about library services and resources.
Books: Print books from the Eskind Collection have been moved to the Science & Engineering Library and the Annex. The library catalog will indicate its location.
Library Instruction/Training/Orientations: Individual instruction can be scheduled with the Reference Librarians. Please contact Philip Walker or Rachel Walden for group instruction.
Research Assistance: Contact the Reference Librarians directly or through the Ask A Librarian form.
Study Areas: all VU libraries are open to VUSN and VUSM students, staff, and faculty, and VUMC personnel. The closest libraries to the medical center are the Peabody Library and the Stevenson Science & Engineering Library. Hours. Campus Map.
Beginning June 1, 2017 and continuing through the Eskind Library renovation, our rare books and archival collections will be available by appointment only. Please contact us via the Ask A Librarian form to make an appointment to use our collections at the Heard Library Special Collections. EBL Special Collections will reopen in summer 2018.
Nathan Jones, Archivist, firstname.lastname@example.org, (615) 936-1417
Christopher Ryland, Curator, History of Medicine Collections and Archives, email@example.com, (615) 936-1406
Jim Thweatt, Archivist, firstname.lastname@example.org, (615) 936-1408
Title: Maladies, elixirs, and healers: 500 years of medical history from the Eskind Biomedical Library Special Collections
Location: Special Collections, Central Library, 2nd floor
Dates: July 24, 2017 - February 12, 2018