Primary Sources

Special Collections and University Archives is the main repository for rare books and manuscripts on the Vanderbilt University campus. It is also the home of the University Archives, the official repository for university records and artifacts.

Hours of Operation: Monday - Friday, 8am - 5pm

Access: By appointment only

Consult the Before You Visit page for more information on scheduling an appointment and what to expect on the day of your appointment.

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
History Vault This link opens in a new window
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Speeches, reports, surveys, and analyses produced by the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries based at Fisk University.
Coverage: 1943-1970.
Understanding Hate in America : White Nationalism and the Press in the 1920s This link opens in a new window
Local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. Also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by ethnic, Catholic, and Jewish organizations.
Coverage: 1921-1932.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films.
HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Oral history interviews with both well-known and unsung African American artists, business leaders, scientists, athletes, and intellectuals.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases. Films under a current license agreement are available for immediate viewing. Other films may require a request through the Kanopy site. Viewing films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by Vanderbilt authorized viewers only (current faculty, staff, or students) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening).