Conquering Call Numbers!
I've got a call #, now what?
Click the link below for more information.
Books, Articles and More!
Greek Texts Online
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowGreek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, oratory, medical writers and mathematicians; and Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. Latin, Greek, and English texts.
- Past Masters This link opens in a new windowScholarly editions of major philosophers, from Aristotle to Santayana; and the collected letters of major English writers: Austen, Burney, Coleridge, Wordsworth, and selected Romantics. Also includes the Oxford Classical Dictionary and the Oxford Duden German Dictionary.
- Jacoby Online This link opens in a new windowRevised edition of the Greek texts of Felix Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker. English translations of the Greek fragments, critical commentary, and a brief encyclopedia-style entry about each historian’s life and works, with a select bibliography.
- Perseus Digital LibraryContains sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome including primary and secondary texts, site plans, maps, and art and archaeology catalogs and images.
Key Monographic Series
- Loeb Classical Library
Standard editions of Greek and Latin texts. Text is presented with the original Greek or Latin text on the left and a literal translation on the facing page.
- Cambridge Greek and Latin Classics
This series provides texts and commentaries on works of Greek and Latin literature aimed primarily at undergraduate and graduate students of either language
- Dumbarton Oaks Medieval Library
The Dumbarton Oaks Medieval Library is a groundbreaking new facing-page translation series designed to make written achievements of medieval and Byzantine culture available to both scholars and general readers in the English-speaking world. It offers the classics of the medieval canon as well as lesser-known gems of literary and cultural value to a global audience through accessible modern translations based on the latest research by leading scholars in the field.
- Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana
The Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana, also known as Bibliotheca Teubneriana or Teubner, established in 1849, has evolved into the world’s most venerable and extensive series of editions of Greek and Latin literature, ranging from classical to Neo-Latin texts. The series consists of critical editions by leading scholars (now always with a full critical apparatus on each page).
- Scriptorum Classicorum Bibliotheca Oxoniensis
Also known as The Oxford Classical Texts, Scriptorum Classicorum Bibliotheca Oxoniensis, are renowned for their reliability, and for their presentation. The series consists of texts without commentary but with a brief apparatus criticus at the foot of each page. There are now over a hundred volumes, representing the greater part of classical Greek and Latin literature.
Fun with Textual Analysis
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new windowTexts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium. Personal user account required for search. Click "register" link to set up account. Select HELP links on the main database web page when unsure about input and Greek display.
- The Chicago HomerA multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek.
- The Homer MultitextThe Homer Multitext seeks to present the textual transmission of the Homeric Iliad and Odyssey in a historical framework. Such a framework is needed to account for the full reality of a complex medium of oral performance that underwent many changes over a long period of time. These changes, as reflected in the many texts of Homer, need to be understood in their many different historical contexts. The Homer Multitext provides ways to view these contexts both synchronically and diachronically.
