Conquering Call Numbers!
I've got a call #, now what?
Click the link below for more information.
Books from the Catalog
Principles of Evolutionary Medicine by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780199236398Publication Date: 2009-09-14
Books, Articles and More!
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
|
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question. |
|
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search. |
A Selection of Useful Subject Headings
Try a SUBJECT begins with search using one of the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LC) listed below or try a MEDICAL SUBJECT begins with search using one fo the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) :
| Library of Congress Subject Headings (LC) | Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) |
| Epidemiology History | Epidemiology history |
| Epidemics History | Disease Outbreaks history |
| Communicable diseases History | Communicable Diseases history |
| Emerging infectious diseases | Communicable Diseases, Emerging |
| Plague History | Plague History |
| Evolution (Biology) | Biological Evolution |
| Human beings Effects of environment on | Adaptation, Biological |
| Evolutionary genetics | Hominidae genetics |
| Human evolution |
Notice that some LC and MeSH headings are the same, but the same concept can also be described using different terms. MeSH headings are also extremely useful in searching PubMed, a key database for medicine and biology. A link to PubMed is available on the Finding Articles tab of this page.
The following databases will help you find articles on your topic:
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes materials published in English and European languages from the late 19th century to the present. Compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowArchive of all journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association.
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials covering topics on the role of scientific discovery in society and culture, and the historiography of scientific disciplines from prehistory to the present.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowInternational journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
Use Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to Build a Better PubMed Query
PubMed Advanced Search Builder
PubMed: The Filters Sidebar
