Research Guides: Accounting & Auditing: Databases

Top Accounting Databases

Calcbench This link opens in a new window
Conduct financial statement analysis, financial accounting and auditing using SEC (Security and Exchange Commission) XBRL data. Analyze financial data for public companies with an interactive data platform. Understand competitor financials, identify potential risks to firms, analyze trends across industry sectors.
Access Note: Users must create a login with a valid Vanderbilt.edu address. The login allows access the databases customization features.
VitalLaw This link opens in a new window
Create an account using your Vanderbilt email address. Formerly known as Cheetah, this database contains tax and accounting information in all areas. Also contains tools and smart charts.
Access Note: Requires VU email. You will be required to submit a Vanderbilt email address to create an account. Vendor Tutorials: http://proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/login?url=https://www.wolterskluwer.com/en/solutions/legal-regulatory/training-support/vitallaw-training
Checkpoint - Accounting This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive accounting database: includes FASB, GASB, AICPA and International Accounting Standards; editorial advice (including GAAP, IFRS, internal audit, etc.); SEC reference library; news.
User Limit: 35. Vendor Tutorials: Training sessions available under "Help."

Checkpoint Individual Student Accounts:

Students need to register for their account while on campus
Once the account is set up, it can be accessed from anywhere on any mobile device
The accounts expire twice a year, on 12/31 and 7/31.
Accounts allow students to personalize their view.

Checkpoint Student Account Registration Instructions

Checkpoint This link opens in a new window
Federal and state tax code and regulations. Daily updates of tax-related news, Federal and state tax code and regulations. Daily updates of tax-related news, Treasury Department decisions, federal court decisions, and IRS Revenue Rulings. State, local, and international. To save files and search histories you must register annually for an account.
Access Note: Contact Mark Williams for more information.
ProQuest Business (including ABI/Inform) This link opens in a new window
Combined search of ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, Asian Business and Reference, European Business, and Snapshots.

Audit Analytics
The Audit Analytics website is complimentary for students whose school subscribes to Audit Analytics via a related faculty research tool (which VU does.) Contact your librarian for instructions on how to enable access.

Find More Databases

The Walker Management Library has access to dozens of Owen Graduate School of Management and Vanderbilt University licensed databases. These resources provide access to business news and journals, as well as highly specialized content on an extensive range of business topics and research disciplines. Access and use restrictions apply to some resources, and use of these resources imply acceptance of our Copyright and Licensing Restrictions. Databases can be found in the following way:

Databases (A-Z)