Librarian
Subject Librarian
Jason Schultz
He/him/his
Contact:
Office: 800FL Central Library
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
(615) 875-8311
Website
Where Do I Start?
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask a Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
- find book drops outside the libraries and at the Commons Center.
- American National Biography Online This link opens in a new windowBiographical essays profiling people from all periods of American history and culture. Bibliographic information, some illustrations, and online resources are included.
American Military Leaders: From Colonial Times to PresentCall Number: Central Reference E181 .F84 1999
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new windowIndex of reference sources containing biographies.
- Marquis Who's Who This link opens in a new windowBiographical information for newsworthy American & international figures in the areas of business, education, entertainment, government, health care, law, religion, science and technology, the arts, and sports.
- American Military HistoryPublication Date: 2009
Historical Dictionary of the Civil War and ReconstructionCall Number: Central Reference E468 .R53 2004
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic HistoryCall Number: E181 .O95 2013 Central REF 4th FL
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowReference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowConcise overviews of hundreds of diverse topics from the abstract (Knowledge) to the concrete (Coral Reefs), written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndex of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
- Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new windowComprehensive guide to book reviews: cites or links to full-text reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles from magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Atlantic Monthly, Century Magazine, Christian Century, Commonweal, Foreign Affairs, Fortnightly Review (London), Good Housekeeping, Harper's, Ladies Home Journal, Literary Digest, The Nation, New Republic, Reader's Digest, Saturday Evening Post, Saturday Review, Scribner's, and Women's Home Companion.
