This is the "New Titles" page of the "Hebrew Bible" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Hebrew Bible   Tags: divinity_gdr  

Last Updated: Mar 24, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/HebrewBible Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

New Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recommendations

To recommend a new title for purchase contact:

Caryn Tamber-Rosenau, Bibliographer for Hebrew Bible


Chris Benda, Theological Librarian, Divinity Library

 

New E-Resources

International Voices in Biblical Studies is a new online, open-access series that facilitates the distribution of scholarship written in numerous regions of the world well beyond their respective spheres. Titles currently available for download include Women at Work in the Deuteronomistic History, by Mercedes L. García Bachmann, and Reading Ezra 9–10 Tu’A-Wise: Rethinking Biblical Interpretation in Oceania, by Nasili Vaka’uta.

A beta version of volume 1 of the new Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online is now available here. The entire encyclopedia is projected to be available by August.


The Marginalia Review of Books
was launched in January 2013. It is a new online-only review of academic literature focusing on history, theology, and religion. New reviews will be published on the last Tuesday of every month, with other content, such as essays and interviews, appearing throughout the month.

 

Featured eBook

Cover Art
Homer and the Bible in the Eyes of Ancient Interpreters - Maren Niehoff
ISBN: 9789004226111
Publication Date: 2012
Thus far intepretations of Homer and the Bible have largely been studied in isolation even though both texts became foundational for Western civilization and were often commented upon in the same cultural context. The present collection of articles redresses this imbalance by bringing together scholars from different fields and offering prioneering essays, which cross traditional boundaries and interpret Biblical and Homeric interpreters in light of each other.

 

New e-Interviews

Listen to Jack Sasson discuss his new book, Judges 1-12, with theological librarian Chris Benda!

Jack Sasson

 

Featured Bibliography

Need a starting place for your research? Check out Oxford's Biblical Studies bibliography! Each article is written by a scholar and contains a brief synopsis of the topic, along with a list of books, articles, and Websites to help kickstart your reading. Oxford is adding new articles all the time.

Most Recent Acquisitions

Spacer
 

Featured Titles

Cover Art
The Decalogue and Its Cultural Influence - Dominik Markl (Editor)
Call Number: BS1285.55 .D43 2013
ISBN: 1909697060
Publication Date: 2013
The 21 papers in this volume offer the richest and most wide-ranging interdisciplinary collection of studies on the reception of the Decalogue in culture, and will prove to be a fundamental resource for students of the biblical text and of the reception of the Bible in general.

Cover Art
Chorus in the Dark - Kim Lan Nguyen
Call Number: BS1535.52 .N48 2013
ISBN: 1907534911
Publication Date: 2013
Chorus in the Dark invites attention to the treaty negotiated by the voices of Lamentations. The issues of God's justice and human rights are at the center of a forceful discussion embodied in the five poems of Lamentations. Difficult questions are subtly raised: How can God's justice be recognized and honored in the midst of suffering? How can the human right to protest against mistreatment be respected? How can loss, grief, and shame be overcome? What future is there for the victims? How can these sensitive issues be negotiated without loss?

Cover Art
What Really Happened in the Garden of Eden? - Ziony Zevit
Call Number: BS1237 .Z48 2013
ISBN: 0300178697
Publication Date: 2013
The Garden of Eden story, one of the most famous narratives in Western history, is typically read as an ancient account of original sin and humanity's fall from divine grace. In this highly innovative study, Ziony Zevit argues that this is not how ancient Israelites understood the early biblical text. Drawing on such diverse disciplines as biblical studies, geography, archaeology, mythology, anthropology, biology, poetics, law, linguistics, and literary theory, he clarifies the worldview of the ancient Israelite readers during the First Temple period and elucidates what the story likely meant in its original context. Most provocatively, he contends that our ideas about original sin are based upon misconceptions originating in the Second Temple period under the influence of Hellenism.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip