Librarian
Welcome to the World of Library Research!
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask a Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
- find book drops outside the libraries and at the Commons Center.
- Vanderbilt's Libraries (map)Map for all libraries on campus.
Archaeology Around the World
Knowing where to start isn't always easy, especially when you're dealing with an unfamiliar subject. Sometimes the best place to start is a subject specific dictionary or encyclopedia. Below is a selected list of print and online reference resources.
Available Online
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- DiotimaA resource for information on women, gender, sex, sexualities, race, ethnicity, class, status, masculinity, enslavement, disability, and the intersections among them in the ancient Mediterranean world.
Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781441904652Publication Date: 2014-02-25
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History by ISBN: 9781405179355
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780195108156Publication Date: 2001-06-07
Available in Print
- Archaeological Method and Theory: An Encyclopedia
- Central Library, Reference: CC75. A654 2000
- Location: 4th floor
- Encyclopedia of Archaeology
- Central LIbrary, Reference: CC70 .E53 2008
- Location: 4th floor
- Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries
- Central Library, Reference: CC100 .E54 2001
- Location: 4th floor
